July 21 2 Kings 18,19; 2 Chronicles 32; James 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Find me faithful! | Nikki Metzger

S~ However, when ambassadors arrived from Babylon to ask about the remarkable events that had taken place in the land, God withdrew from Hezekiah in order to test him and to see what was really in his heart. 2 Chronicles 32:31 (NLT)

O~ Hezekiah’s story: devotion to the Lord, dependence on the Lord.  The Lord elevates Hezekiah and blesses him so much.  Hezekiah becomes proud and doesn’t respond to the Lord appropriately.  The Lord withdraws to see Hezekiah’s true heart.

A~ Pride is so dangerous.  The Lord is so serious about this.  What a warning to me and my heart!

And the Lord continues to test His people.  When the Lord tests me to see what’s in my heart, how will I respond?  How do I want to respond during testing?

That’s probably when I need to GO DEEP DAILY!  Meaning, I won’t have time or too many distractions during my testing season and I’ll let go of my time of getting into the Word.  But that’s when I’ll need to be WAY MORE intentional about meeting with my Father.  And I will need to worship to help me abide in Him.  Maybe step back from things.

P~ Father, please find me faithful!  In my testing season and always.  Help me to pursue humility and give You the credit for every gift You have given me.  Help me to know the difference of pride and confidence in You.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

We Are More | Michelle Myers

S~ You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. James 5:5 (NIV)

O/A~ Often, when I look around me, I don’t feel that I live in luxury or self-indulgence.  This is because our culture is so full of luxury and self-indulgence.  Even many of the “lower income” kids that I taught had luxuries.  Many of the units in the project housing areas, have satellite dishes. Many of my students had more advanced and newer cell phones than I did.  I just knew that how they got the money for these things wasn’t always legit or some of their more important needs, such as healthy food, paying the electric bill, etc. were compromised so that they could have these items of luxury.  Like many people, who really can actually afford such luxuries, their worth and value becomes wrapped up in their possessions and appearances.

I often have to remember what most of the world is like.  I have to view images of war torn, third world countries.  This helps me put my own luxuries and self-indulgent behavior and lifestyle into perspective.  It has also helped me put my own troubles into perspective, and see the blessings You provide to help me get through them.

For instance, bed bugs are something many people in third world countries just live with.  There are no exterminators.  The bites never end, and the itching never heals.  There are some states that don’t require landlords to pay for the exterminator.  That responsibility falls on the resident.

You have definitely been working on my heart in this area for years.  I am not where I need to be, but I am way farther than I used to be.  There are so many “things” that I live without today and am completely content without.  There was a time when I never thought that I could go without and be content.  I am much more conscience of how I use the resources that You have given to me.  Not only financially, but also with my time, health, talents, and abilities.

As my children get older and are enticed by our culture of luxury and self-indulgence, I need guidance and help in being a Godly example for them in this area.  I want them to value, appreciate, and wisely use all of the resources that You have given to them.

P~ Thank you God for the changes that You have made in my heart.  There is way more satisfaction in living with less, doing more with less, and being wise with what You have provided.  Please help me be an example for my children.  Please work on my girls, and help them understand that there is way more to them than what they own or wear.

God is Good | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ We give great honor to those who endure under suffering.  Job is an example of a man who endured patiently.  From his experience we see how the Lord’s plan finally ended in good, for he is full of tenderness and mercy.  James 5:11 (NLT)

O~ My life is not my own.  I write that after struggling with the last part of the verse, reading of God being full of tenderness and mercy while speaking of Job. I realize that Satan wants me to doubt God’s goodness.  I know God is loving and merciful.  He sent his Son to die on the cross for my sin, while I was still a sinner!

A~ When suffering comes along, I want my heart to endure and to stay open to my Lord.

P~ Father, please forgive me for doubting your goodness when suffering is involved.  Help me stay connected to you and trust your goodness, and your plan.

Saving the Wanderer | Kelley Deases

S~ My brothers, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring him back, remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of his way will save him from death and cover over a multitude of sins. James 5:19-20 (NIV)

O~ Several years ago, my mother had friend who became involved in an affair. She was married and had a child, but was so enamored with this other man she maintained this “double life” for months if not years. My mother remained a faithful friend, not condoning or excusing this clearly destructive course of conduct, but standing by her friend and, as she had occasion, tried to offer truth and perspective. Ultimately, the affair ran its course and my mom’s friend stayed with her husband and is married to this day. This verse really captures what my mom lived out — her honest attempt to “turn a sinner” from her error by maintaining relationship and speaking truth and life into a sour situation.

A~ I have not always followed this course in my own relationships, and fear I have often “jumped ship” too soon. I can harken back to a particular time with a good friend when I felt she had made some unwise, ungodly, and unsavory choices and I decided to sever the friendship. Rather than remain and encourage her towards God and what He would have for her, I am ashamed to admit I chose to leave her in the mess she had created for herself. It was just too hard, I told myself then. But today Your Word causes me to reflect that, while healthy boundaries may have been in order, perhaps terminating the relationship was not the best way to love her back into the kingdom. (Sigh.)

P~ Father, Thanks You for Your Word which You so often use as a tool to affect heart change and a mirror I need to hold up and get an accurate view of myself and my own actions. Forgive me for taking the easy way out of a friendship that got messy and help me next time to stay and shed light into the dark places.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 21, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

