July 19 2 Kings 17; 2 Chronicles 28; Psalms 46; James 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Consequences | Kim Chipman

S~ But they would not listen and were as stiff-necked as their ancestors, who did not trust in the Lord their God. 2 Kings 17:14 (NIV)

O~ Israel is being exiled to Assyria. The Lord allowed this to happen…(v7) “because the Israelites had sinned against the Lord their God…”

Consequences. Sin has consequences. They worshiped other gods and followed the practices of other nations (which they were told not to do). They worshiped idols – poles and altars and golden calves and starry hosts and Baal. They did not keep the covenant God had mad with their ancestors.

What stands out to me in this verse is “did not trust in the Lord their God”

A~ So many things lately are reminding me that SO MUCH boils down to what I trust and believe to be true. If I trust You and Your promises I will make different choices. I will think different thoughts.

I love this definition of integrity (by Brene Brown)

brene_integritydefinition

If I am choosing to trust You then I need to choose these things also – courage, what is right, practicing my values. This will lead me to a deep, rich, abiding, living, growing life of trust and faith.

Often I choose comfort and fast, fun, or easy. I do. I wish I didn’t, but I do. This is not choosing trust. This is choosing to feed the flesh rather than feed my faith.

The choice is mine. Each moment of each day.

P~ Lord help me, in Your power, to choose well! I love You!

I Need to Change for Them to Change | Michelle Myers

S~ God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 (NIV)

O/A~ The other day, we had another couple of unexpected expenses throw a wrench in our budget. Thanks to bed bugs deciding to make our home their vacation spot this summer, our budget was already out of wack and tighter than I anticipated it being for this season.  I have been handling it pretty well, and then yesterday happened.

I was tired.  I was preparing to send my oldest off on her missions trip.  These trips were really acts of obedience and stepping out in faith for us.  I have a tendency to want to hold onto our extra money, in preparation for “bed bug” seasons, which can come in the form of actual bed bugs, a medical bill, car repairs, etc.  Also, we have not had a good, solid consistent schedule for about a month.  Plus, my youngest daughter, who just got back from her missions trip, has had quite the entitled, disrespectful attitude this past week.  However, that could be either one of my daughter’s, on any given week.

By yesterday afternoon, I had had enough!  I called my husband at work to talk to him about the budget, and then I started to cry.  All the frustrations started coming out.  There was just silence on the other end of the phone.  There wasn’t much he could do.  Then it hit me, “Why was I taking this to him and not You?”  I got off the phone with him, and all I could get out of my mouth was, “God, help me get through this.”  Then I fell asleep.

When I woke up, I went back to You and asked You to show me, what I was missing and what I should do.  First, I needed to remember the other times that You got me through, because You are my refuge and strength.  I needed to believe that this time is no different. I needed to remember, recognize, and acknowledge the blessings that I do have.  I needed to rework the budget again, so that I can see where we could cut and start to build up savings.  I needed to continue on the path of self care and taking time for me to go to the gym consistently.

I also needed to, once again, look at the big picture for my kids.  They are good kids, but they are spoiled.  I spoil them.  I don’t want them to be uncomfortable.  I wanted to send both of them with way more than enough money than they needed.  My youngest daughter came back with extra money.  Yet for my oldest daughter, You told me to send her off with a certain amount. That should be enough, if she budgets well.  If she doesn’t, the uncomfortable feelings that will result, will be good lessons for her.  You reminded me, that my kids won’t change their habits, if I don’t change mine.

P~ Thank you God for being my refuge and strength.  Thank you for enlightening me with Your wisdom.  Thank you for providing for us, as my husband’s bonus is going to be more than we anticipated, and that will help us get through this rather lean “bed bug” season.  Please help me, when it comes to my girls.  The mama bear in me struggles, when I see them struggle.  Help me remember that You are their refuge, strength, and help.

Irritated and Needing a Miracle in Me | Tara Wiley

S~ Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress. Interlude Psalm 46:10-11

O~ I appreciate the interlude instruction at the end of verse 11. Interestingly, it doesn’t come right after the first phrase of 46:10, the famous ‘be still and know that I am God.’ No, before calling the reader to be still and consider, the Psalmist gives direction on what to consider: God will be honored – by every nation, throughout the world. The Lord of Heaven’s Armies WILL prevail! What great encouragement for times like these.

A~ Life is full of curveballs. My husband’s job suddenly, unexpectedly changed, and with it comes a whole new set of stresses and responsibilities for both of us. My dear friend took her daughter to the doctor and walked away with we are testing for cancer ringing in her ears, and now has to sit and wait impossible hours and days for initial results that will likely only lead to more testing, regardless of the positive or negative outcome of those first tests. Our nation is in such turmoil there are hardly words for it. Our world is in such turmoil. And blast it if I didn’t just waste two and a half hours of my precious quiet morning on a service call that was then disconnected. I know, that seems stupidly, pitifully small, compared to the prior things, but you know what? It stressed me out. I had things I really wanted to do with those hours that did NOT involve setting and resetting routers and security systems. Things that will now not get done today. My brain says – well, get to it, Tara. But my spirit knows: if I don’t stop right.now, be still, and know that He is God, I will be an angry, irritated, less productive woman. The interlude is absolutely necessary at this very moment. So I will tune out the teeth-grating drilling going on in the street in front of my house (that was supposed to be done a week ago, but is weeks from being done. My whole summer is a symphony of drills, Caterpillar equipment, and backup beeps), and pretend that this is my usual peaceful perch on my porch, and I WILL BE STILL and remember Who has all of this in His hands, the Lord God Almighty! Omnipotent! Omnipresent! All-powerful! Beyond-the-cares-of-this-world God!

P~ Lord, I confess it right now: I am NOT still. I am ticked off that my quiet perch is anything but quiet when what I desperately need right now is peace. I am irritated on so many levels. I could sit here and list it all out (have I mentioned that parenting is requiring every fiber of grown-up-ness I possess if I am to survive this season without losing my cool every day?! And then there’s…) but You already know it all, Lord. You know it all – from every annoying splinter to every great heartache that’s disturbing my peace.  And in today’s verse, you don’t say Be still and complain about everything. You say Be still and remember WHO I AM.  I want to reflect You. I want to honor You. I want to know You and worship You in the details of life. But right now, my flesh just wants to scream. In our reading in James, You said that Your wisdom is pure, peace loving, gentle at all times (all times?!), yields to others; is full of mercy and the fruit of good deeds, shows no favoritism and is always sincere. Oh Lord, I need that kind of wisdom to work through the everyday stresses and the extraordinary strains. I want to be that person of James 3:18, the one who is a peacemaker who plants seeds of peace and reaps a harvest of righteousness. I am in desperate need of Your peace and Your harvest of righteousness in me. Without a miracle in my heart I cannot be who You want me to be. So right now, Lord, I bring to You my stressed, frazzled self, and ask You to change me with Your Presence.

I will remember Who You Are – the God who never changes, who is All I Need:

I will obediently shut up, be still, and remember Who You are in this moment. I will fix my gaze on eternity and on Your position of authority, power, and control. And I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that in five minutes’ quiet surrender, I will get off this porch perch a changed woman, ready to tackle whatever comes next. And Lord, if You’d happen to help me be two and half hours’ worth more productive, that would be great.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

