July 18 Isaiah 32,33,34,35; James 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Perpetuating Scoundrels | Michelle Myers

S~ Scoundrels use wicked methods, they make up evil schemes to destroy the poor with lies, even when the plea of the needy is just. Isaiah 32:7 (NIV)

O~ “Scoundrels”, “wicked methods”, “evil schemes”, “destroy”, and “lies”……all sound like the enemy to me.

A~ Once I recognize the truth about the “scoundrels” in my life, our society, in our culture, and in our world, that the enemy is able to work through, it helps me recognize the truth and stand in that.  It is then that the wicked methods, evil schemes, destruction, and the lies have little influence on my thoughts, actions, and life.

As much as I don’t always like it or want to, it is also important for me to respond to the “scoundrels” as You would.  You were aware of them. You were aware of who and what they were representing.  You spoke truth to them.  Yet, You interacted with them in a loving manner.  You did not reciprocate with wicked methods, evil schemes, destruction, and lies, and in turn, perpetuate the YUK, that the enemy wants perpetuated.  Then I become a “scoundrel”.

P~ God, I am so thankful for the good You provide.  Please help me represent You, when I am dealing with difficult people, who just don’t understand the YUK that they are perpetuating.  Please help my children recognize whose work this is, and help them to not let it take root in their heads and hearts.  Please help them also represent You, when dealing with the “scoundrels” they encounter, and not become a “scoundrel” themselves.

No -isms | Kim Chipman

S~ My brothers and sisters, believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ must not show favoritism. James 2:1 (NIV)

O~ favoritism [fey-ver-i-tiz-uh m] n 1. the favoring of one person or group over others with equal claims; partiality

Every human on the planet has equal claim to salvation through Jesus. To show partiality to anyone is SIN.

A~ I need to genuinely examine my heart about this. The hot topic right now is racism – that seems like partiality to me. While I don’t think of myself as racist I need to examine my heart around the assumptions I make and conclusions I draw. Pride is blind. I don’t want to miss it because I’m convinced it isn’t there. At the foot of the cross is level ground.

P~ Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23, 24. I love You!

Law of Love | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So whenever you speak, or whatever you do, remember that you will be judged by the law of love, the law that set you free.  James 2:12 (NLT)

O~ The law of love, the law that set me free.  When I think of what set me free, I think of God’s grace, his mercy, his love…even when I didn’t deserve it.

A~ I need to be this way with others…share the love that was freely given to me.

P~ Father, I think I’m going to have the opportunity to put this into practice soon.  Help me love, be merciful and have grace.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on July 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

