July 16 Isaiah 25,26,27,28; Hebrews 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God Knows | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The farmer knows just what to do, for God has given him understanding.  He doesn’t thresh all his crops the same way.  A heavy sledge is never used on dill, rather, it is beaten with a light stick.  A threshing wheel is never rolled on cumin, instead, it is beaten softly with a flail.  Bread grain is easily crushed, so he doesn’t keep on pounding it.  He threshes it under the wheels of a cart, but he doesn’t pulverize it.  The Lord almighty is a wonderful teacher and he gives the farmer great wisdom.  Isaiah 28:26-29  (NLT)

O~ The farmer knows how much pressure (little or much) to use to harvest his crops, and it is different for each crop.  God also knows me best and how much pressure is needed (little or much) to bring about his work in me.

A~ I can trust God because he knows what is happening in my life.  I need to turn to him for guidance in whatever I face and he will help me and give me wisdom just as he gives the farmer.

P~ Father,  help me with what I am facing.  Please give me wisdom, guidance, I need all of it!

Who Am I Living For? | Kim Chipman

S~ So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” Hebrews 13:6 (NIV)

O~ Galatians 1:10 Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

A~ In my Bible study small group today we were talking about trusting God. So many choices I have every day can come back to the simple basis of what I am really believing to be true. Is it my feelings? Is it what others tell me is true? Is it my people being happy? Is it what people think of me?

Often as a wife and mom it feels good when my people are happy. Honestly, though, that isn’t the best gauge of what I should be doing. I can be doing exactly what You call me to do an my people can be unhappy about it. YOU are my helper. I can be confident in YOU even when everything seems a mess. If people are unhappy but I’m doing what You’ve asked…does it really matter? Who am I living to please?

P~ Help me to live for You boldly, without fear. I love You!

Changes | Michelle Myers

S~ Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. Hebrews 13:8 (NIV)

O~ When this posts, it will be my 44th Birthday.  YIKES!! I have no idea where the last 20 years of my life have gone.  When I reflect back on those 20 years, I am such a different person.

A~ Physically, I am starting to see the changes.  If I didn’t color my hair, I would probably be in shock at the number of grey hairs I really do have.  There was a picture puzzle, I used to gave to my students, and one of the pictures on it, represented “the middle aged spread”.  Heck, I didn’t even really know what that was then.  I do today!  All those days at the pool or playing sports in the scorching sun as a kid, have caught up with me and now I have the same age spots, freckles, moles, etc. as my grandma and mom.  Physically, I am changing.  I am not liking all of the changes, but learning to accept them.  I have a feeling that accepting them, and embracing them the best that I can, today and in the future, is all I am going to be able to do.

Spiritually, I have seen the changes, but unlike my physical changes, I am not struggling as much to embrace them.  Twenty years ago, I didn’t have the peace I have now.  Twenty years ago, I didn’t have my priorities right.  Twenty years ago, I didn’t know who I was in You, and have the confidence that I do now.  Twenty years ago, I was way more selfish, unforgiving, materialistic, self righteous, and angry.

The spiritual changes, have helped me with the physical changes.  I know that what is on the outside, is temporary.  This helps me keep it in perspective.  What changes on the inside is eternal.

P~ Twenty years ago, You were available to me just the same as You are today, and will be forever. I didn’t get it then, but I do now, and am so thankful for your stability.  Help me remember what is important as I change on this journey and walk with You.  Help me remember Your stability, when people around me, my life, or the world is so unstable.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on July 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy Birthday Luisa!

Leave a Reply

