July 13 Isaiah 15,16,17,18; Hebrews 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Dear Mega Church Pastor | Nikki Metzger

S~ So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised. Hebrews 10:35-36 (NLT)

O/A/P~ Dear Mega Church Pastor, now removed for sinful behavior,

Your behavior, your removal from the church you started, this sin…these things don’t define you. You are precious, you are holy, you are loved beyond all measure! Christ’s love is higher, wider, deeper, and longer for you than you could ever imagine!

And you know what? Jesus knew what would happen and yet He still found you so valuable and treasured that He gladly stepped into your place for payment.

Choose to let Christ define you, not your actions. You messed up, you need help, just like every. single. human born of a woman! I beg you, don’t let pride rule you right now!

Don’t throw away your confident trust in the Lord! Right now, in this trial, you need patient endurance, so you will continue to do God’s will.

Please don’t miss Him in the refinement process, He has big plans for you! How do I know this? You are still breathing!

Praying for you, your family, and your church!

Love, a sinner whose life was changed by your preaching!

Persevering to the Promise | Michelle Myers

S~ You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. Hebrews 10:36 (NIV)

O~ God gives us all, different things to persevere through.  The way He speaks to me or tells me what to do, isn’t necessarily the way he speaks to someone else or what He is telling someone else to do.

A~ I never understood what someone gets from fasting.  God has never put it upon my heart to fast.  However, I have an admiration for those people have done it, and have gotten some sort of spiritual clarity from it.  I think that I would just be hungry and grumpy.

Yet, today at the gym, You told me that I needed to step it up and mix it up.  So, I did a different machine for the entire workout.  At first, my thoughts were, “I am not going to make it for the duration.  Maybe I should go back to what I am used to.  I am over doing it. I am going to suffer miserably with back and shoulder pain, when I get home.”

However, I kept hearing You say, “I am worth it. Keep pressing through it.”  After I started changing my thoughts, I was able to focus on my worship music.  This helped me stay focused on You.

By the end, I was ready to go longer.  I ended up going farther and burning more calories, than I ever have in one workout.  My back and shoulders weren’t hurting, when it was all said and done.  In fact, I was able to spend the afternoon walking around the zoo with my husband.  More importantly, it showed me how much I can do, when I focus on and press through with You.

P~ Thank you God for helping me today.  Thank you God for getting me to the point where I could see beyond the ministry and see You.  Thank you for showing me that You see way more in me, than I see in myself.  Please continue to help me and work on me, as I one again, embark on a journey towards better health.  Please continue to show me the connection between healthy mind, healthy body, and healthy spirit.

Shrink Back At Your Own Risk | Kelley Deases

S~ But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved. Hebrews 10:39 (NIV)

O~ The picture this verse brought to mind for me was my youngest son’s friend, 8-years-old, who cowers in fear when he sees our new dog, a little fluffball of only 16 pounds. I don’t blame the little guy; he had a traumatic experience being bitten in the face when he was very young. But what his fear does is to evoke an ugly aggression in an otherwise loving lap puppy. He charges and nips as our young neighbor shrinks back and backs away. Next time he comes over, I hope to coach him to stand confidently, walk about confidently, and show that little yapper who’s boss!

A~ This is an apt visual for what it looks like when we cower and shrink back and apologize for our faith, rather than stand confidently for and on the Truth we possess.

P~ Holy Spirit, Give me greater boldness to walk in Your Truth and not shrink back and allow the Enemy or the culture to overtake me in my weakness.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

