July 12 Isaiah 11,12,13,14; Hebrews 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Division, the Devil’s Work | Michelle Myers

S~ The wolf will live with the lamb, the leopard will lie down with the goat, the calf and the lion and the yearling together; and a little child will lead them.  The cow will feed with the bear, their young will lie down together, and the lion will eat straw like the ox.  The infant will play near the cobra’s den, and the young child will put its hand into the viper’s nest.  They will neither harm nor destroy on all my holy mountain, for the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the LORD and the waters cover the sea. Isaiah 11:6-9 (NIV)

O/A~ There is so much division among people in this world.  If wild, untamed animals will some day be able to live among one another, without fear or harm; shouldn’t we, as the smartest species on the planet be able to now?

It is all a spiritual issue.  I don’t have to be agree or like someone to be kind to them.  All I need, is to stay connected to You.  You will show me what I need to know about a person, and how to respond to them in a loving way.  Even an non-believer, who denies You, and is completely separated from You, I don’t have to like or agree with; but You want me to treat in a manner that encourages unity, grace, and love (with boundaries of course).

Unfortunately, division that harms and destroys has been an issue since Adam and Eve first sinned in the garden.  Wasting time on the evil people, who perpetuate it, is pointless.  It is also what the enemy wants.  Instead, not contributing to it and working to help those that are harmed by it, is way more fruitful.

P~ Thank you God, for Your promise that one day, the division that harms and destroys will no longer be an issue.  My African American husband came home the other day, and said that for the first time, he is getting a little worried about our racial differences, because there is so much tension and anger.  As an African American male, what he is seeing on social media from his tribe is a lot different than what I am seeing, as a Caucasian female.  I still have the luxury of being far enough removed from it, that I am still getting positive scriptures, cute and funny cat posts, and people’s vacation pictures.

God, please help him remember who You are.  Help calm his anxiety, and help me be more aware of what I need to be aware of.  I am often able to look past someone’s differences, and see them only as a human being.  This sometimes makes me unaware of the struggles they encounter due to their race, gender, sexual orientation, etc.

Please comfort all the families, who have suffered harm and destruction, because of the division. Weather it is a slain police officer or a young African American man killed by a police office, they were ALL people and they were ALL loved and valued by someone.

A Song of Praise | Kim Chipman

S~ Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. Isaiah 12:2 (NIV)

O~ I love how the book of Isaiah takes a turn from God’s judgement to hope and praise. Chapter 11 is the promise of Jesus and Chapter 12 is a song of praise.

A~ This verse speaks directly to my heart today. I can sing this song of praise – my thoughts need this continual reminder. When anxiety or fear rise up I can replace those thoughts with this declaration.

When things are overwhelming…God is my salvation!

When I don’t know how things are going to work out…I will trust and not be afraid!

When I am worn out…You are my strength!

When I’m being challenged, or my feelings dismissed…You are my defense!

You have become my salvation…as I look forward I know I am not where I want to be, but as I look behind I know I am not where I was! We have walked together. You have provided over and over again. You are trustworthy. You have become my Rock, my Protector…You are my God!

P~ I love You! Thank You for this song of praise from Your Word today!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on July 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

