July 11 Isaiah 8,9,10; Hebrews 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Reverential Awe | Kim Chipman

S~ The Lord Almighty is the one you are to regard as holy, he is the one you are to fear, he is the one you are to dread. Isaiah 8:13 (NIV)

O~ fear [feer] noun 4. reverential awe, especially toward God

reverent [rev-er-uh nt] adj deeply respectful

A~ Lots of fear swirling around right now. Fear for safety, fear for our leadership, fear for security, fear for the future. The Lord Almighty is the only one to revere…I can focus on YOU, not all that other stuff. Revere YOU alone. Realize how much You hate sin and stand in awe of You. Then trust You.

For God is not a God of disorder but of peace—as in all the congregations of the Lord’s people. 1 Corinthians 14:33 (NIV)

All this chaos is not You. I choose to stand in awe of You. I choose to trust You.

P~ Lord, I pray that we can all choose to focus on what we have in common…our common humanity…our need for a Savior and our need for love and grace. I pray we can all choose to show these things to others. I pray it starts with me. For Your glory! I love You!

Spiritual, God Fear | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD Almighty is the one you are to regard as holy, he is the one you are to fear, he is the one you are to dread. Isaiah 8:13 (NIV)

O~ This specifically talks about not consulting mediums and spiritists, but going to God instead.

A~ I don’t go to people who claim to be mediums, but I have to say, that I run to the internet quite a bit.  Sometimes, it is a good resource for information.  It has often given me starting points, when I have a new situation arise that I have never dealt with before.  This is the good side of technology, that I feel comes from You.

Yet, I also have to be careful not to let other people’s stories of doom and gloom, crisis situations, and negative comments bring on a spirit of fear.  When I start to feel this way, I feel that this is not You, but the enemy trying to get the best of me.

I have gotten way better at sifting through what is helpful and what is not.  After I get what information I need, realize what I can and can not do, I give it up to You and trust that You will pick up what I can’t.  I am getting better (but definitely not perfect) at surrendering my need to feel in control, have everything figured out, or know what the future holds.  I am remembering more and more, as situations arise, that You are control, You are sovereign, and You will work it out for good….no matter how much it stinks going through it!

P~ Thank you God for Your faithfulness.  You have never left me hanging.  Never!  Even when I deserved to be left hanging, because I did something stupid, You didn’t leave me.  This has helped me understand the difference between worldly, people fear and spiritual, God fear.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on July 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

