July 10 Micah 5,6,7; Hebrews 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Recognizing God In It | Michelle Myers

S~ I will destroy your idols and your sacred stones from among you; you will no longer bow down to the work of your hands. Micah 5:13 (NIV)

O/A~ I am beginning to understand more and more that everything of value in my life, must have some sort of spiritual motive or purpose.  If it doesn’t, it really should not be that valuable.

When someone does something that I think is wonderful, I have to remember that they are not whom I should be idolizing, but You.  When they do something stinky, I have to remember who is behind that (the enemy) and respond in truthful love (like You do).

When I am serving my family, disciplining my children, or helping them through a hard situation, I have to remember, that it is You working through me.  I’m not the idol.  It is You that has touched my heart enough to want to serve my family and honor You.  It is my hands doing the work, but You are the one pulling on the strings, making them move.  If it were ALL me, I know me, and there are some days, I just wouldn’t feel like it, want to deal with it, or would just be too self centered.

This is true in regards to my eating and exercise routine.  It took many attempts, with long periods of excuses, laziness, and absences, but each time I remembered how much better I felt afterwards. You again, had to get me to the point where not going, caused me so much emotional turmoil, that it was better to obey You and go.

I am realizing how determined I need to be, because as life happens, the shift starts small and little by little, I eventually end up taking a nose dive off of a cliff. This is the same thing that I have found with my SOAPing.

All of this has to do with honoring You by recognizing Your wonderfulness, being obedient, and staying connected.  It isn’t about being a certain pant size or a number on the scale.  It isn’t about checking off days in my reading plan.  It isn’t about the recognition and appreciation I do or do not get from my family.  It is ALL related to being my best spiritual self, growing my spirit, and preparing my spirit for what is next, after I am done with this life.

P~ Thank you God for not leaving it up to me.  When You have, it doesn’t go well or I don’t stay the course.  As life happens (bed bugs, needs by kids and spouses, abrupt change in plans, etc.) help show me what need to go, so I can continue to work on the spiritual things You have told me to work on.  Help me be determined!

Simple, Not Easy | Kim Chipman

S~ He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. Micah 6:8 (NIV)

O~ I love this verse. I have it hanging on the wall of my kitchen. I feel like it’s one of those verses that breaks down a big, complex thing (God and the Bible and the meaning of life) into easy to digest morsels. Much like Mark 12:30-31 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Life is complicated sometimes but I don’t think God’s assignment for us is super complicated to understand. Love God – love people – act justly – love mercy – walk humbly. Simple to understand, not so easy to do.

A~ In light of the events of this week – senseless killing and racial tension – I can’t help but fantasize about what the world would look like if *just the “Christian” people* did this well. Really well. If we LOVE mercy. If we LOVE people. And do it really well.

While I can’t change anyone else I can certainly change everyone else…or really ANYone else…I can certainly change myself. Do I act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with You? Do I passionately love You and all the people? No, I don’t. I mean not always. I get lazy and frankly I love ME and my comfort more that You and others. I default to pride much quicker than humility.

I must continually choose to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with You.

P~ I love that You make a way for this chaotic world to have purpose for me. Simple to understand. Help me to walk it out for Your glory. I love You!

Jesus’ Personal Interceding | Tara Wiley

S~ Therefore he is able, once and forever, to save those who come to God through him. He lives forever to intercede with God on their behalf. Hebrews 7:25

O~ God’s personal love is so amazing to me. Jesus lives forever and is praying for me – standing in the gap for me – securing my salvation even now.

A/P~ Lord, this truth is so astounding to me. It’s overwhelming if I try to understand it in human terms. But You are greater than anyone or anything I can imagine. And in Your infinite power and ability, You pause, Jesus, to intercede for ME. I can hardly stand the thought! I am so unworthy of Your personal care and provision, yet You give it freely. Thank You for the gifts of Your salvation, protection, and personal care for my life. I can rest in You, knowing that even if I found myself completely alone, You would still be with me, caring for me, providing for me. I am so grateful for Your constant presence and the peace You provide. When I am overwhelmed, the truth of Who You are centers and calms me. Thank You for the gift of that perspective.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

