July 9 Micah 1,2,3,4; Hebrews 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Patience in the Journey of Faith | Joni Tyner

S~ Then Abraham waited patiently, and he received what God had promised.  Hebrews 6:15  (NLT)

O~ Hebrews was written to encourage Hebrew-Christians in their faith.

A~ Patience isn’t one of my strengths.  It’s actually a weakness, big time!!! I often think that God’s timing needs to line up with Joni’s timing—and if it doesn’t, I start to get insecure in my faith and question things.   I don’t want to be a weak person, but sometimes I question why God allows certain circumstances in my life.  I confess that I like to be blessed a lot more than I like God’s season of molding me and teaching me and training me.

P~ Dear Lord, please fill my heart with patience and a spirit of joy and contentment when my circumstances aren’t what I would choose.  Help me to embrace the journey of faith .  I beg for Your protection of my thoughts.  I have the tendency to look at other people’s lives and start to compare that they are doing _____ or their kids are ______ .  I know this is a bad BAD thing, please help me to not compare my life to other Christians!!  I need Your help to stay focused on the purpose You have set before me and to not get hung up on what is currently lacking in my life.  Please forgive me and replace this pity party I’ve been having with a heart that is full of gratitude for all that You’ve given me.

I am called to keep loving | Nikki Metzger

S ~ Our great desire is that you will keep on loving others as long as life lasts, in order to make certain that what you hope for will come true. Then you will not become spiritually dull and indifferent. Instead, you will follow the example of those who are going to inherit God’s promises because of their faith and endurance. Hebrews 6:11,12 (NLT)

O~ The author is saying that loving others will keep you from becoming spiritually dull or indifferent.

A~ Where do I start with this gem?  I see spiritual dullness as someone who has brain knowledge, but just talks the talk; without the walk.  I see indifference as just ‘walking by’ the hurting – not caring one way or the other.

I’ve definitely had seasons where I was indifferent about relationships.  As I read this text, I was wrong so many times when I allowed my heart to become indifferent to help me with my hurt.  Loving others prevents spiritual dullness or indifference.  And I’m called to love as long as life lasts.

There is no way in the world that I can REALLY love others without Jesus.  As I cling to Him, He enables me to love like He has called me.  Even loving those really hard people in my life!

P~ Father, I’m sorry about those times I became indifferent in my heart!  Thank You for Your Word that shines a light on my heart!  Please give me a spirit of forgiveness and love when I’m hurt so I don’t allow my heart to head to indifference.  Please give me wisdom in relationships to have godly boundaries too!  I love You!  I ask this in Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

