July 8 Hosea 13,14; Psalms 100,101,102; Hebrews 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Freedom | Michelle Myers

S~ Know that the LORD is God.  It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of the pasture. Psalm 100:3 (NIV)

O/A~ The more I understand who You are, the more free I become.  The more I understand that You made me, the more free I become.  The less concerned I become with people’s opinions, and the more focused I become on Your opinion of me.  You let me know, if I am out of line.  I so much want my two girls to know this freedom.

P~ Thank you God for the freedom that You provide.  Please continue to work on my girls, so they can know You, and who they are in You.

Overfed and Slack Toward God | Vicki Burns

S~ When I fed them, they were satisfied; when they were satisfied, they became proud; then they forgot me. Hosea 13:6 (NIV)

Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil. Hebrews 5:13-14 (NIV)

Jesus answered, “How can the guests of the bridegroom mourn while he is with them? The time will come when the bridegroom will be taken from them; then they will fast.” Matthew 9:15 (NIV)

“Though there is no doubt that Jesus and his disciples lived in a spare and frugal manner, it would be improper for his disciples to fast while they had the comfort of his presence. When he is with them, all is well. The presence of the sun makes day, and its absence produces night.” Matthew Henry Commentary

O/A~ Over the course of several weeks I have been hearing — feeling a call to fast. I believe this is in response to my waking up, or at least becoming more aroused to the depth of the depravity of the world around me as well as that of my own heart.

What is my response to this spiritual hunger? The loss of control of my physical appetite of course! My lack of self-discipline follows my giving over of myself to fleshly desires. It’s the “I want what I want when I want it!” of my old man that I forget is my enemy in the heat of the battle when I allow myself to stray from the constant use of the wisdom only found in the Word of God.

When I fed them, they were satisfied; when they were satisfied, they became proud; then they forgot me. Hosea 13:6 (NIV)

Satisfaction of the flesh leads to pride that causes me to forget God.

This is not a rule. There are freakishly rare moments when I can simply be truly grateful for God’s provision. Yet, the majority of time I am not, rather, with a numbing sense of entitlement (pride) I feed my flesh to the full, thus, forget the God of my Salvation.

But aren’t we all driven to acquire satisfaction? Yes! It flows in our veins. The sinful human cycle throughout the Holy Scriptures so plainly reveals that we’re selfish, so we remember and cry out to God who fills our need, so we’re satisfied, get proud and forget God.

What about fasting? Maybe, if I fast (actually allow myself to feel hunger) I can let it remind me of the true spiritual food I lack. Just maybe I can let it to prompt me to pray and intercede for those dark circumstances of night bringing them to my Bridegroom who alone satisfies with the light of day both my weary soul and the looming darkness around me.

I want to hunger for the solid food that is for the mature who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.

P~ Oh my precious Savior! How I lack and long for Your sweet presence! I want to mature so as to be able to digest more than the elementary truths (vs. 12) of God’s word and move on to teachings about righteousness (vs. 13). This is the solid food that promises to mature me (vs. 14) if by constant use I train myself to distinguish good from evil.

Guide me as I seek to incorporate the holy discipline of fasting. Let it honor You and the reality that You have not yet returned for us and yet, in so doing, I know I will find You nearer than ever. You alone satisfy my longing soul.
By Him, for Him and through Him are all things. May Your name be praised for ever more.

Pursuing Excellence | Joni Tyner

S~ There is so much more I would like to say about this, but it is difficult to explain, especially since you are spiritually dull and don’t seem to listen. You have been believers so long now that you ought to be teaching others. Instead, you need someone to teach you again the basic things about God’s Word.  Hebrews 5: 11-12  (NLT)

O~ This scripture stood out to me because I can’t help but think of the thousands, probably millions, of people who go to church each week around the world and are still “spiritually dull”.   “They don’t seem to listen.”  I can relate because, for many years, I was a passive church attender.  I went every week, yet I didn’t open my Bible.  I wasn’t growing in my faith, I still was naïve to things like pride and humility and sacrificial giving.  I did believe in Jesus and I was a “good person”, but I was spiritually dull.

A~ I started reading a book yesterday about pursuing excellence in a person’s career.  It isn’t a Christian book, yet many of the principles are the same.  Be a person of integrity.  Be a life-long learner.  Do things with excellence and consistency.  On and on.  I think this is so much like our faith.  We need to be life-long learners of God’s Word.  We need to be doers of the Word, to be people of integrity, to be consistent with what we say and how we live our lives.   We need to push through adversity and not give up with troubles knock us down.

P~ Dear Lord, I don’t want to live a mediocre life where people associate me with being undependable, or a person who exaggerates or being seen as hypocritical.  Please continue to create a hunger in me to read and study your Word.  I know this is the best way to live with purpose and energy and keep a passionate focus on the things You love.  I pray for other believers this morning,  pursue their hearts, give them a deep desire to become alive in You, to read Your Word and create ripple effects for the purpose of growing Your Kingdom.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on July 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

