July 5 Hosea 2,3,4,5; Hebrews 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Relationship intimacy | Nikki Metzger

S~ When that day comes,” says the Lord, “you will call Me ‘my Husband’ instead of ‘my Master’. Hosea 2:16 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is describing our relationship with Him.  Master vs. Husband.  A master/slave relationship is so different than a husband/wife relationship.  Even in the most perfect master/slave relationships there is a level of intimacy not found in a husband/wife relationship.

A~ I’ve found myself going to my list of to-do’s for Jesus.  Read, pray, be patient, be kind, have a quiet time, and on and on.

I feel like I’ve moved myself into the Master (the Lord)/ slave (me) relationship, one based on works.  I’m going through the motions, but that level of intimacy, connected-ness, peace isn’t there.  God hasn’t moved, it’s me.

The Lord’s desire for our relationship is to be intimate; so close, like that of a husband and wife.  Not an unhealthy marriage relationship, but a marriage relationship how God designed it to be.

P~ Father, I recognize that my intimacy with Jesus is more like a master/slave relationship instead of a husband/wife relationship this season.  Create in me a desire of intimacy with Jesus that I’ve never experienced.

Father, I also heard a sermon about how our earthly dads are like the opening act for You, our Heavenly Father.  Maybe our earthly husbands are like the opening act for the main act of our Heavenly Husband, Jesus?  My heart cries out for earthly marriages – good and bad alike!  I pray for all people in earthly marriages, that they understand this marriage on earth is just the opening act.  The main at is our marriage with Jesus!  You are good, good Father!  Thank You!!

God Understands and God Heals | Michelle Myers

S~ For this reason he had to be made like them, fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people.  Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted. Hebrews 2:17-18 (NIV)

O~ There is no better way to understand what someone is going through, than to live through it yourself.  God understood this.  He also knew that healing is possible, through Him.

A~ We went to a cookout at the home of a guy, who is in one of my husband’s sex addiction groups. Every male there, was a recovering addict.  All but two, are married.  This is the second cookout I have been to for one of his groups.  The other one was a few years ago, and I was in a much different place then.

A few of the wives have started support groups, and invited the rest of us to join.  Yet, I knew that they weren’t for me after hearing the women talk.  The comments I heard were…

“I need someone to go to, when I feel I just can’t do this another day.”

“I have close friends that I talk to, but I don’t share this part of my life with them.”

“I don’t think many people understand this.”

There was also one wife there, that I know has been struggling with the disappointments in her marriage and the resulting anger for years.  I think she has just kind of given up on her own life, and blames her husband for that.

I get every emotion that was expressed, yet feel that, not only am I on the other side of it, so is my husband.  The more each of us turned to You, and not ourselves and our own comfort, we started to heal.  His addiction is far from the “main issue” in our marriage.  In fact, I can’t remember the last time we had an “issue” that we weren’t able to discuss or work out.  We don’t hide his addiction, or the struggles that it has caused in our marriage, but we both have healed enough and moved on enough that is not “eating up” the marriage.

We didn’t do this on our own.  It took a lot of giving up of our own will and listening to Yours.  I have no idea what You are telling these other women.  Yet, I have learned a great deal about Your character in the last few years, and I know You don’t want them hiding in shame, feeling that they can’t go on, or even being concerned with what other PEOPLE understand or don’t understand. You don’t want them wasting away in anger and bitterness.  You also don’t expect them to not enforce boundaries, with a husband that isn’t seriously working on his recovery and is being unfaithful or damaging the family unit.

For me, You told me several times, Yourself and through other people,that I needed some anxiety medication.  For me, it has truly helped.  It has slowed my brain down enough, that I am able to process my reactions and responses with You, instead of immediately reacting to a situation. Yet, I still have to process through it with You.  It hasn’t been a “magic cure”.

For me to not freak out over bed bugs, is a HUGE deal.  And there were times, that I had to sit in the bathroom and just pray.  Pray that I can look at another black trash bag without puking.  Pray that I can keep this in perspective.  Pray that I could keep a sense of humor.  Pray that I didn’t lose it with my family, and make a bad situation even worse.

I also think that it has helped with some of the imbalances that I was having due to normal hormonal changes caused by my increase in age.  My doctor referred to me as “pre-menopausal” the other day.  YIKES!!!  The other alternative was the term “middle aged”.  I don’t think there is any way to sugar coat it.  I am getting older and my hormones get whacker as my age increases.

P~ Thank you God for Your healing power.  Going to You wasn’t enough.  I had to listen to you, accept Your plan and will, and then change my words and actions.  I know my husband had to do the same thing for his own healing.  He struggled with accepting this addiction, and surrendering to the fact that he was an addict.  I pray that you show these men, women, and families what Your healing plan is for them.  I pray that they will listen and do what You are telling them to do.

Choose Your Side in Temptation | Kim Chipman

S~ Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted. Hebrews 2:18 (NIV)

O~ “He” is Jesus. He “shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil—” v14.

A~ You get me. It feels really good to know that. It makes me feel loved when I am understood, and You get me. Because You came and lived tempted (then died and rose – defeating death), You can help me when I am tempted.

Lately I’ve been tempted to complacency in my heart…and therefore in my choices. I haven’t been as disciplined – in pretty much every area – as I would like. v1 is a powerful reminder for me today also…”We must pay the most careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away.” Attentiveness to the drive is very important. The drift happens *quickly*, so daily disciplines are crucial to keep my guardrails on. I know for my soul to be the most healthy I need to read and meditate on the Word, do what it says even when my feelings don’t feel like it, eat healthy food, and exercise DAILY.

But BOY am I tempted to complacency. I can find a justification for just about anything I want in the moment. I’ll read later…I’ll indulge “just this once”…I deserve some rest instead of a walk…tempted…complacent…drifting…

The hope? You get me. You are able to help me when I’m tempted. In the sermon on Sunday our pastor talked about how while there is absolutely a spiritual battle raging, we need to remember that God isn’t in some epic struggle with Satan. This isn’t a competition like in the movies of good vs evil. Jesus already WON. He is WAY more powerful. WE struggle when we don’t choose God’s side.

I must fix my eyes on You and pursue You alone. And ask for Your help when I’m tempted instead of just caving and choosing the wrong side of the battle. I have Your power available to me!

P~ I love Your Word. It meets me in my mess and shines hope on me and in my heart. I love You! Thank You for this promise that You are able to hep me when I am being tempted. Help me to choose Your side (and Your power) today!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

