June 30 Amos 7,8,9; Psalms 104; Titus 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Thoughts about me | Nikki Metzger

S~ May all my thoughts be pleasing to Him, for I rejoice in the Lord. Psalm 104:34 (NLT)

O~ This psalm points out God’s supreme wisdom and creation.  He really is an AWESOME God!

A~ I wonder if all my thoughts are pleasing to Him?  As I go through my soap notes……..I realize that I’m really hard myself.  And that’s just what I write down.

If I put on paper what goes through my head during the day about myself, it would be pretty non-pleasing.  Why is it that I can see the goodness and beauty in others and not myself?

I know God cares deeply about me and when I trash on myself, that doesn’t please Him.  I wonder if my thoughts and rejoicing in Him are related?  The psalmist connected them in this poem.

P~ Lord, my heart is sad…..as I think more deeply about my internal dialogue.  It’s so degrading and hurtful to me.  Teach me so my thoughts are pleasing to You so I can rejoice in You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Gaining Perspective Through Meditation | Michelle Myers

S~ May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the LORD  Psalm 104: 34 (NIV)

O~ I find that I meditate in different ways throughout the day.  As I have different experiences throughout the day, I stay connected to You, by continually meditating on what you have shown me about a situation or a person.  Many times, as I see the suffering and circumstances of things far and near to me, I am reminded of Your wonderfulness.

A~ Today was a sad day for me, and as we had our third bed bug treatment, bed bugs were not what consumed my mind.  Last night, through facebook, I learned that I woman that I had worked with had suddenly died of a heart anomaly….way back in February.  I had not been on facebook that much, as we were preparing for our move, and totally missed it.

We were both new to the school.  We lived in the same area.  Our oldest girls were the same age, and played softball on opposing teams.  She was my age.  I really liked her.  When I think about my time at this school, she always popped into my mind. I knew that she was going through a divorce at the time, and seemed to be on the other side (the healing side).  We had talked about getting together sometime.

I don’t understand why You took her at such a young age.  I don’t understand why You left her three children without a mother. Yet, I do know that she was a ball of sunshine on this earth, and will be an even brighter force in heaven.  I do know, that the reality of WHO is control of my life….I mean my literal life……my beating heart and breath….is You.  I am getting better at realizing that You can decide to pull the plug on this thing at any time.  It has made me more thankful for each day….bed bugs and all!

When my husband and I went in a few weeks ago to tell the apartment manager about our bed bug situation, I knew that I was speaking to a woman whose husband was shot and killed four months ago, when he was helping his sister move her stuff out of an abusive ex-boyfriend’s home.  Although, I expected her to do her job and take care of the problem, I didn’t expect her to see the problem as the “code red” situation, I initially thought it was.  My husband went in later to talk to her about something, and he said that she is very hard to read, because she lacks emotion.  Then he said, “She has just been through a lot.”

Us having the information that we did, allowed me to put our situation into a better perspective.  Also, as I meditated on what I felt, struggled with, and the hard things about the losses of what I endured, which have not been nearly as big as hers, I was able to maybe get a glimpse of what she is enduring.  Not only did this make me more compassionate when I spoke with her, but it also made me realize how amazing it was that she is able to function at the level she currently is.  I know for me, my ability to function when it was just really confusing and crappy, was Your grace, and I know for her, it is Your grace.

When you show me these things, and I take time to meditate on them from a heart perspective, not a logical (because none of these situations are logical ), not a self serving perspective, not a prideful perspective, but a true heart perspective, it makes me a better example of and servant for You.  Because, I realize that I am no different, no better, and more or less deserving of the same junk happening to me in my life.

P~ Thank you God for the opportunity to know Marnie.  Please help provide comfort and peace to her mother, sister, and three children.  Please change her ex-husband’s heart, and let her family have a relationship with their children.  I pray for the same comfort and peace for our apartment manager and her two girls.  Please keep giving me what I need, so I can have a better understanding of where people are coming from and what they are going through.

GRACE | Kim Chipman

S~ For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, Titus 2:11-12 (NIV)

O~ This brings to mind 1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” Temptation WILL happen, but there is always a way to choose Your way. Free will allows me to have choices about almost everything. Interesting to ponder that God’s grace is what “teaches” us to choose godly lives. Grace = unmerited favor.

A~ Because You love and forgive me unconditionally, this should motivate me to choose well. My salvation is secure. My choices should come from deep gratitude for this. The world has nothing to offer that comes close to Your grace. Nothing.

P~ Help me to remember! I’m such a forgetter and I really like comfort. Often I choose worldly passions and ditch self control. Your grace is enough! Help me to honor You. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on June 30, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

