June 29 Amos 4,5,6; Psalms 86,87; Titus 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Just do it! | Kim Chipman

S~ This is what the Lord says to Israel: “Seek me and live; Amos 5:4

O~ v6 Seek the Lord and live

v14 Seek good, not evil, that you may live.

When a phrase is repeated in Scripture it gets my attention. I find it interesting that in chapter 4 God talks about all the trials and hardships He used to try to get His people to return to Him. The simple reminder is “seek Me and live” (but Israel was NOT)

A~ Could my trials be just that? A call to seek You? It seems an odd method to me, really. (but what do I know)

SEEK – this is an active word. I have to DO something, choose well – this is not passive. This is the path to LIFE!

P~ Lord, help me to seek you! It’s easy to fall into seeking selfish motives. Help me to continually seek YOU. I love You!

Get Out There! | Kelley Deases

S~  Seek good, not evil, that you may live. Then the Lord God Almighty will be with you, just as you say he is. Amos 5:14 (NIV)

O~  The prophet Amos is imploring the people of Israel to turn from their materialistic ways and, specifically, to adopt God’s heart for the poor and underprivileged. Here he states how pursuing the good is life-giving. It invites God’s presence in a very real sense, not in some kind of manufactured religious way.

A~  I woke up this morning before my alarm with a discontented spirit, and I think this verse (and the whole Book of Amos) touch on the reason why. This summer has thus far primarily been defined by “fun”: What fun activity can I do with my son while our schedule is eased during summer break and the weather is nice? And to what self-indulgence can I treat myself while he is otherwise engaged in a camp, class or hanging out with Daddy? Amos reminds me, as does my discontented spirit, that God expects more from me as His disciple. I should be actively about the business of doing my part to show God’s love in a dark and fallen world … and training up my child to do the same. I get frustrated when I see my son acting like he is the center of the universe, but I am reinforcing that notion for him everyday by my own actions. He and I need a shift in focus, from ourselves to others, to help give us purpose and a higher perspective.

My husband has recently begun coaching baseball for underprivileged kids in our city (to include giving them all the gear, equipment and apparel they need to play the game). I can see how inspired he is to be part of helping bless these kids in this way. And that’s just how God works; when we see a need and try to meet it, with a heart that wants to serve Jesus and others, He blesses us all the more!

P~ Father, Inspire me today as I “seek good” in identifying a place or places to serve. Let my heart to serve You through serving others open the door for closer communion with You as I share the gifts You have given me.

Whole-hearted Leadership | Tara Wiley

S~ Teach me your ways, O Lord, that I may live according to your truth! Grant me purity of heart, so that I may honor you. With all my heart I will praise you, O Lord my God. I will give glory to Your name forever. Psalm 86:11-12

O~ I love it when our Old and New Testament readings so beautifully dovetail one another. In Amos, we read about Israelites who half-heartedly follow God. In Psalm 86, David cries out to God with whole-hearted devotion, asking for a pure heart. In Titus 1, Paul talks about deceitful leaders whose hearts are not pure: “Everything is pure to those whose hearts are pure. But nothing is pure to those who are corrupt and unbelieving, because their minds and consciences are corrupted. Such people claim they know God, but they deny him by the way they live. They are detestable and disobedient, worthless for doing anything good.” Titus 1:15-16 Ouch! Paul sure doesn’t mince words when addressing the need for leaders to be held to a very high standard, beginning with their hearts.

A~ We’ve seen what it’s like to have corrupt leaders (both in and outside of the church). It’s terrifying. Satan can be so deceiving! I just want my family to be above reproach. We have to constantly be on guard with all areas of our lives. It’s hard. But it’s worth it.

P~ Lord, I know that as we step into ‘official’ roles of leadership as a family, the standard gets raised yet again – not just from others, but from You. The last thing I want to do is lead people astray by the way we live. That whole thing in Titus 1 about leaders’ kids needing to be followers of you and not rebellious – wow. We are doing all we can and can only trust You with the outcome. God, just teach us Your ways. Keep us constantly sensitive to Your Spirit’s direction so we can be passionate, whole-hearted followers of You as we humbly lead Your people.Keep our hearts pure. Keep our motives single-mindedly on You. We will praise You with all we have and all we are. Help us lead well.

It’s the Relationship | Michelle Myers

S~ They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him.  They are detestable, disobedient, and unfit for doing any good.  Titus 1:16 (NIV)

O/A~ “Detestable”, “disobedient”, and “unfit to do any good” are harsh words.  I don’t want to be one of these people who “claim” to know God, but my actions say otherwise.  I had to ponder this awhile.  I know I don’t always get it right, so I was thinking that maybe I AM one of them.

I know a lot of people who claim to know You, and do “good actions”.  Outwardly appearances would seem to back that up.  However, when You get to really know them, they really don’t “know” You.

I was concerned about what IS the difference between me and these people?  And you lead me to the verse before 1:16, “To the pure, all things are pure, but to those who are corrupted and do not believe, nothing is pure.  In fact, both their minds and consciences are corrupted.” Titus 1:15

My purity comes from REALLY believing in You.  My purity comes from REALLY wanting to follow and please YOU.  It isn’t an “action” thing, it is a heart thing.  As a human being, I am not always going to get it right.  I am going to make mistakes.  When my heart isn’t right, You quickly show me or lead me in the direction of another trusted believer, that You will work through, to show me.

That is how all things are pure.  It is because of my RELATIONSHIP with You.  It is the RELATIONSHIP that sets me apart from those others.  It is not because of anything I have done in regards to myself or actions with others or within the world.

P~ Thank you God for picking up the slack, where I fail.  I am so thankful for my relationship with You.  Please help me stay pure through You, so I am not detestable, disobedient, and unfit for any good.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Marisa Tomlinson

    Well said Michelle. It’s all about the heart. I’m so thankful to know that He has our back when we struggle and keeps us humble when we succeed.

Leave a Reply

