June 28 Amos 1,2,3; Psalms 80; 2 Timothy 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Shine Upon Us | Vicki Burns

S~  Restore us, O God; make Your face shine upon us, that we may be saved. Psalm 80:3 (NIV)

O~ Matthew Henry Commentary: When God is displeased with His people, we must expect to see them in tears, and their enemies in triumph. There is no salvation but from God’s favour; there is no conversion to God but by His own grace.

Bible note: Psalm 80 laments God’s anger against the community and pleads with Him repeatedly (vv. 3, 7, 19) to return His blessing to it…written during the last days of the northern kingdom (II Ki. 17). This was a time when the people’s mourning was as frequent as their meals.

God’s people cry out in desperation for His gracious presence to save them.

A~ I know I try to be one who is aware of the signs of the times, so I watch, as objectively as I can muster, the events and trends of our present day. Grievous deeds go on around us. My heart mourns, when I give it space to feel it. The more I look, the more I mourn. It “seems” we live in a time when the Church, i.e. God’s people, are least effective in marking our culture, our society with righteousness, integrity or justice.  However, we are not without Hope! There is yet time! I have a voice. We all do! And it seems, if ever there was a time to use it, it is now!

P~ Father, let me grieve before You. Let the evil even I see break my heart, though I am steeped in my own failures. Restore us, O God; make Your face shine upon us, that we may be saved. Teach me to follow You, surrender my own agenda and use the voice, the platform and all opportunities You have provided to further Your kingdom. It is in the Most Holy name of Jesus Christ I pray. Amen.

Truth vs Happiness | Kim Chipman

S~ But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry. 2 Timothy 4:5 (NIV)

O~ Paul is encouraging Timothy to preach the Word, to focus on truth because people will not always want sound doctrine. Sometimes people rally around leaders who say what they want to hear – but they are not necessarily speaking TRUTH.

In The Principle of the Path Andy Stanley says, “Our problem stems from the fact that we are not on a truth quest. That is, we don’t wake up every morning with a burning desire to know what’s true, what’s right, what’s honorable. We are on a happiness quest. We want to be – as in feel – happy. And our quest for happiness often trumps our appreciation for and pursuit of what’s true.”

A~ I can hear You speaking to me through this verse. “But you, Kim, you stay focused, do the work I asked you to do.”

That work? Truth quest. Read and apply Your Word daily and help others to stay on track doing the same. Really live out the application. Love my people even when it is really difficult and I don’t want to. Pursue truth. Pursue You. Daily. Sounds so simple – and it IS simple to understand, just not always easy to do. It’s hard heart work.

But so worth it.

P~ Lord, help me to keep doing what You’ve called me to do…to “Preach the word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction.” v2. All for Your glory. I love You!

What’s More Important | Michelle Myers

S~ But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardships, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry.  2 Timothy 4:5 (NIV)

O/A~ Upon spotting two bed bugs in my each of my daughters’ rooms, my husband decided to go “commando” on them and pull apart their dressers, bed frames, etc.  He said that he was tired of them, and it is time to get serious.  We need to get back to normal!

The vigilant checking, cleaning, and washing is good and necessary.  It isn’t a bad thing, but ultimately, this is all in Your hands.  It is an inconvenience.  I am tired.  However, through many inconvenient life situations that have left me tired, You have taught me, who is really in control.  It surely is not me.

You have taught me that You are way more concerned with my stability (remaining calm), when these things occur than my comfort.  You have shown me, that You will work this out in Your timing, regardless of how angry or frustrated I get with You.  Strengthening me to increase my endurance is way more important to You, than my comfort.  You have shown me that seeing and speaking about the blessings in the middle of the junk and Your goodness (the work of an evangelist) is way more important to You, than keeping me so comfortable and privileged that I have no junk.  Plus, it is way more powerful; because it is so easy to praise You when it is going well, but it takes faith to praise You in the middle of the storm.  You have shown me that, to the best of my ability, You want me to keep moving on with myself and press through the inconveniences (discharge (carry out) all the duties of my ministry).  Learning to persevere is way more important to You, than giving me a pass to do nothing or making me comfortable.

P~ I am thankful for the lessons that have brought me to this place of peace and surrender.  I want to serve You well by being a good example of stability, endurance, faith, and perseverance.  Please just help me, because I can’t do it on my own.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

