June 23 2 Kings 10; 2 Chronicles 22,23; 1 Timothy 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

More Than Busy Work | Michelle Myers

S~ Besides they get into the habit of being idle and going about from house to house.  And not only do they become idlers, but also busybodies who talk nonsense, saying things they ought not to.  So I counsel younger widows to marry, to have children, to manage their homes, and to give the enemy no opportunity for slander. 1 Timothy 5:13-14 (NIV)

O/A~ As a married woman, with a family, I have been given a job to do.  Many times it may seem like busy work, but there is a spiritual purpose behind it all.  The success of the spiritual purpose totally depends on how focused on and connected I am to You, at any given moment.  The busyness may keep me physically out of “trouble”, but the condition of my heart and my attitude is what keeps spiritually out of “trouble”.

P~ Thank you God for circumstances and lessons that You are providing my family, to help us go stronger as individuals, as a family, and as Christians.  You have given us another huge, unexpected challenge that has turned our lives, summer plans, and finances upside down.  There have been times that I have had to catch myself, as my mind starts to drift toward the dark side. Yet, You have given me enough experiences to know that it is just wasted energy, and that it will eventually take a spiritual toll on me.  You have provided me enough busyness in this circumstance, that I don’t have time to “go there”.  Accepting that You have given me this for a good purpose and that You have it all under control, is huge growth for me.  Please continue to help my faith be strong. Please continue to help me when I am tired or getting impatient with my girls. Please continue to help my husband and I communicate and work together during this time.  Please help me continue to find the joy in the middle of the junk.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted on June 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

