June 19 2 Kings 1,2,3; Psalms 82; 1 Timothy 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You Are My God | Kim Chipman

S~ But the angel of the Lord told Elijah, who was from Tishbe, “Go and confront the messengers of the king of Samaria and ask them, ‘Is there no God in Israel? Why are you going to Baal-zebub, the god of Ekron, to ask whether the king will recover? 2 Kings 1:3 (NIV)

O~ The king of Israel – Ahaziah – fell and was injured. He sent messengers to the temple of Baal-Zabub, the god of Ekron, to ask whether he would recover. The Lord sent Elijah to confront them.

A~ This is the same thing we should ALL remember as Christians. I know God gives me community and friends to share my life with, but YOU are my God. Like You used Elijah, You can use people to speak truth and life into my space, but You want me to come to You first. I am totally guilty of asking other sources before I come to You. Sorry for that.

P~ Thank You for showing me this today. You are my God! I trust You. I love You.

God is Big, Ask Big | Vicki Burns

S~ When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me, what can I do for you before I am taken from you?”  “Let me inherit a double portion of your spirit,” Elisha replied.      II Kings 2:9 (NIV)

Bible notes: In Israel the eldest son enjoyed a double portion of the family inheritance and with it the right of succession.—- Elisha’s desire for a double portion – was therefore a bold request.

O~ This assistant to the renowned prophet Elijah, requested twice that of his master’s spirit! That could have been offensive, too brash and bold. It was not, however, and his request would be granted upon completion of a single contingency (vs.10) “If you see me when I am taken from you, it will be yours— otherwise not.”

Elisha was from the beginning, tenacious, as demonstrated by his abandoning his former way of life and wholly committing to the new.

Three times Elijah had commanded Elisha to stay while he went on. All three times Elisha made a vow to not leave his side. That’s tenacious!

Tenacious: 1 a : not easily pulled apart : cohesive  b : tending to adhere or cling especially to another …

2 a : persistent in maintaining, adhering to, or seeking something valued or desired…

A~ If there is one thing I do not see myself as, it is strong (tenacious). My history worked hard to see to that. However, God has redeemed much of that and allowed some of  my weakest places to be healed and strengthened, but this work is far from complete. I’ve a long way to go. Gradually I am learning to recognize the lies of the enemy when I hear them, such as feeling shame for no reason, or feeling condemned when I AM NOT. These are regular battles over which I am slowly gaining ground.

But to ask?!!! To ask for double?!!!

I am the opposite of tenacious; easily stopped or pulled apart; soft; weak; quickly giving up.

So why then? Why does something rise up in me to want to ask for the double portion? I want that! Could it be that my faith wants to grow into the double? It feels like a cry residing deep within my heart— a deep, deep longing.

P~ Ps. 139:23-4  Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. (NIV)

Help me… Ps. 37: Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.

Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. (NLT)

I trust You to purge my life since You have secured my salvation. According to Your plan, allow me to walk in those good works so others may see and glorify YOU! Grant that I should know the peace that comes with being cohesive. Help me adhere and cling to You. In You, I am seeking One valued and desired. I want to make friends with faithfulness and delight in You.

God Rules Over Judges | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ God presides over heaven’s court; he pronounces judgment on the judges: “How long will you judges hand down unjust decisions? How long will you shower special favors on the wicked? Give fair judgments to the poor and the orphan; uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute.  Rescue the poor and helpless; deliver them from the grasp of evil people.  Psalms 82: 1-4 (NLT)

O~ This reminds me that God sees and is watching over the judges.

A~ In the wake of the heartbreaking story of the Stanford rape victim as well as the unbelievable verdict, this verse brings me hope that God sees and will bring justice.

P~ Dear Father, thank you that you are watching over us.  Thank you for all the support this young lady is receiving and for her courage and strength. Help her heal. Help her and her family through this.  Help victims all over this world who are trying to live life again… I pray for those who are thinking of committing this crime that you would reach their hearts, that you would stop them. I also pray for our judges to have integrity and character, and to uphold justice.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

