June 17 1 Kings 20,21; 2 Chronicles 17; Colossians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Humility affects God!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ (No one else so completely sold himself to what was evil in the Lord’s sight as Ahab did under the influence of his wife Jezebel. 1 Kings 21:25 (NLT)

“Do you see how Ahab has humbled himself before Me?  Because he has done this, I will not do what I promised during his lifetime.  It will happen to his sons; I will destroy his dynasty.”  ~ the Lord in 1 Kings 21:29 (NLT)

O~ Ahab, who was the most completely sold out to evil king, humbled himself when he heard what the Lord was going to do to him and his family.  Ahab tore his clothing, dressed in burlap, fasted, and was in deep mourning.  God saw Ahab’s heart and was moved to action by prolonging the destruction of Ahab’s dynasty so Ahab wouldn’t see it.  You can’t mock God, Ahab had to fall under God’s judgment, but even the most evil of men can come before our Creator and King!

A~ I’m just blown away by my God’s goodness and mercy!  Ahab was super evil, yet God showed him favor after her humbled himself.  A true, humble heart means something big to my God!

P~ Father, I’m in awe of Your goodness to Ahab!  Is he in heaven?  I hope so!  I want to hear his account of Your love.  Please grow in my heart humility.  True humility!  What an account of hope here in Ahab!  No one here on earth is ever ‘too far gone’ or ‘too evil’.  Help me to live in a way to show Your love to others.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Forgive Those Who Offend Us | Joni Tyner

S~ Make allowances for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive anyone who offends you.  Colossians 3:13 (NLT)

O~ Those of us who are forgiven, (Christians, Christ followers) are  COMMANDED to forgive anyone who offends.

A~ Last night we had a team meeting with  Discover One Thing.  We talked about communication and this was a theme.  People offend us, (enter living on earth) we need to respond in a Christ-like manner.  Believe the best in people, (especially other believers) and work to make amends if relationships are fractured.   Can you just even imagine what life would be like if everyone embraced this scripture?

I remember something once said in a message at church that I thought had a lot of truth to it.  The most grateful, non-entitled people are the most difficult to offend.   When I think of the most grateful, appreciative people I know, I simply can’t imagine any of them being upset by a silly word said in haste or someone’s inconsiderate action.  My aunt  Ruth was the perfect example of this.  She always saw the best in EVERYONE!!!  I never remember her making a passing comment about someone who other’s might perceive as lazy, dirty, stupid, or ______.  She always took time to thank everyone for their contribution, no matter how small or insignificant by worldly standards. At her funeral, many, many people voiced of times that she reached out to them and encouraged them.  Oh, another thing.  In addition to the gift of encouragement, she was dedicated to prayer.  She had filled prayer journals of people she was praying for—family, missionaries, and other people and situations that God laid on her heart.  That is the type of Christian warrior I want to emulate.

P~ Dear Lord, help me to see the best in people, ALL THE TIME.  I want to look at sinners (everyone) through the lens that You see them—broken and forgiven.   Pleases give me eyes and ears and a heart that loves others and leaves the judgment up to You.  Thank you for this reminder to tolerate other people and forgive them.

Being Made New | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ In its place you have clothed yourselves with a brand-new nature that is continually being renewed as you learn more and more about Christ, who created this new nature within you.  Colossians 3:10 (NLT)

O~ I have been given a new nature and it is continually being renewed as I learn more about Christ.

A~ For some reason I woke up feeling pretty down about myself, about life.  I had thoughts about myself that were bringing me down…I wish I was an encouraging person (translation—I bring people down) I feel like my children struggle in life with their thoughts because of me.  I feel like that’s what they learned from me and I feel like I don’t even know how to help them or encourage them.

And then I read this verse. This verse gives me hope, it takes my focus off of me, my failures, shortcomings, and inadequacies to the hope I have in Christ!  This new nature in me that is being renewed.

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you for loving me so and giving me a new “me.” Help me to be a better mom.  Help me to encourage my children in the Lord for you are our hope, our strength, our life, our very breath!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

