June 16 1 Kings 17,18,19; Colossians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

So He Obeyed | Vicki Burns

S~ Then the word of the Lord came to Elijah: :3”Leave here, turn eastward and hide in the Kerith Ravine, east of the Jordan. :4You wil drink from the brook, and I have ordered the ravens to feed you there.” :5So he did what the Lord had told him. He went to the Kerith Ravine, east of the Jordan, and stayed there. :6The ravens brought him bread and meat in the morning and bread and meat in the evening, and he drank from the brook.         I Kings 17:2-5 (NIV)

O~ This section of Scripture is the prelude to some of the most dramatic narrative of the Old Testament. Ahab and Jezebel’s rule under their false god, Baal and Elijah’s word through the true God of Israel. Spoiler: God wins. But once Elijah delivered God’s message of drought, how was he going to survive? God had a plan. He had ordered take out!!! And Elijah simply obeyed.

A~ I wished we had more background into how Elijah developed such a deep and powerful relationship with God…a sweet relationship of trust. I’m afraid I have allowed my faith to be subjected to the ruling demand that everything pass through my intellect for approval. But God doesn’t work that way. He has a plan and that plan may “seem” like insanity against the skepticism of our day.

P~ Deliver me back to my child-like faith dear God. Cleanse me from evil and draw me close to You so that I simply obey You in the joy and confidence of a child You delight in.

Faith When We Are Empty | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So she did as Elijah said, and she and Elijah and her son continued to eat her supply of flour and oil for many days.  1 Kings 17:5 (NLT)

O~ This widow had only enough flour and oil to make herself and her son one last meal, Elijah asked her to make him some bread first then fix her “last meal”, because God said to her that there will always be plenty of flour and oil in her containers.  So she did as Elijah said and there was always plenty.

A~ This reminds me again to look beyond what I see and trust God and his word.  My daughter is going through a rough patch in her life and it was so hard to hear her struggle, especially hard to hear her down and discouraged.  I needed to pray and I prayed for God to help her, to encourage her, to provide for her.  Her circumstances had not changed, yet her outlook and her countenance did!

P~ Dear Father, thank you for my sweet girl, please bring her heart to you and keep her close.  I pray this for all my girls (now)  🙂 and my boys.

In Battle | Michelle Myers

S~ The ravens brought him bread and meat in the morning and bread and meat in the evening, and he drank from the brook. 1 Kings 17:6 (NIV)

O~ The LORD spoke to Elijah and told him to hide in the Kerith Ravine, east of the Jordan.  There he will be able to drink from the brook and be fed by the ravens.  Because of a severe drought, eventually, the brook dries up, but the LORD continues to direct Elijah in what to do.  As long as Elijah does what the LORD says, He provides for Him.

A~ I am finding myself struggling in multiple areas…

First, I am not getting my time in with You.  I feel pulled in many different directions.  An increase in my medication, has left me groggy and a little out of it.

Second, the reason my medication had been increased, is because my serotonin levels were low and the food cravings were out of control.

Third, the food cravings have not helped us stay in budget in regards to groceries or eating out.

Fourth, I have been more active in general, and more faithful in going to the gym,  but I have gained weight.  It is frustrating!

Fifth, along with the importance of time with You, the other way this has all impacted me spiritually is in my contentment and satisfaction with what You have provided.  Normally, I may have not been overly excited about eating bread and meat in the morning and evening brought by You through ravens, and drinking from a brook; but I would have been content, satisfied, and grateful for what You provided.  I am grateful, but am struggling with being content and satisfied.

P~ Thank you God for your provisions.  I know that I am blessed, even when I am not getting what I want.  I know that I am currently under attack, and I need You to help guide me in regards to time, energy, money, food, exercise, etc.  Please help me be content and satisfied in You, because I have experienced and am fighting right now, fleshly and worldly satisfaction and contentment; and it is NEVER REALLY fulfilling.

Let there always be enough | Nikki Metzger

S~ There was always enough flour and olive oil left in the containers, just as the Lord had promised through Elijah.  ~ 1 Kings 17:16 (NLT)

O~ The widow never ran out of flour and olive oil, her and her son were able to live through the drought.

A~ My friend just sent me a text.  There is desperation in there. I didn’t know what was going on since we had missed seeing each other the last few weeks.

P~ Father, please let my friend have enough.  Just like You gave the widow a miracle of food, please give my friend a miracle!  Lord, please pour an abundance of blessing over her: financial, physical, emotional, spiritual, relational, and mental blessings.  Lord, heal her heart and show her Your mighty power of grace and mercy.  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Prayer for Protection against the World | Joni Tyner

S~ Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ. Colossians 2:8  (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church of Colosse and warning them about false teachings.

A/P~ Dear Lord,  I can be so gullible sometimes!!  I know that is how You created me, but please give me discernment and wisdom when I hear and read things.  Please give me eyes and ears that are in perfect pitch with Your Will and cringe when exposed to worldly junk.  I want to have compassion and love for those who are misguided,  please help me to NEVER have an attitude of superiority or judgement.  I pray You protect my kids from worldly teaching, especially our son.  You know everything about him for You created him.  I pray that his curious mind that always questions things will see through the garage of worldly teachings and  he always find the real truth in Your Word.  With all of my kids, I pray that they are frequently reminded of the truths they learned as toddlers, children and teens as we took them to church and talked about our faith at home.  Dear Lord, please forgive me for being so lazy and assuming that once they were lead to You, my job was done and I got distracted by other things—including serving You and other people.  Please give me a fresh vision for how to mentor my kids’ faith as they become adults—I want to encourage them and cheer them on—not nag them into going through religious motions.  Please help my husband and I to have wisdom in this area.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on June 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

