June 15 1 Kings 16; 2 Chronicles 15,16; Colossians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Prayer to Know God’s Will for My Life | Joni Tyner

S~ We ask God to give you complete knowledge of His will and to give you spiritual wisdom and understanding, then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and  you will grow as you learn to know God better and better.  Colossians 1:9-10 (NLT)

O~ Paul wrote to the church of Colosse during his imprisonment in Rome.

A~ I want to increase my prayer life through scripture.

P~ Dear Lord, please infuse me with spiritual wisdom and understanding so that I live a life that gives You honor.  I desire to be in Your Will and  I think that is accomplished through staying close to You by reading the Bible.  Please give me an insatiable hunger to read Your Word and  grow my faith.  Help me stay focused and please help me with all of the distractions of this world.   I love You and desire to please You through the daily stuff in my life.

It’s His Thing…..I Just Have To Do It | Kelley Deases

S~ To this end I labor, struggling with all his energy, which so powerfully works in me. Colossians 1:29 (NIV)

O~ This is a great mystery: how we labor but with Christ’s energy working powerfully to accomplish His purposes. So, if I understand this right, I put forth effort and will struggle in the challenge of doing so, but His energy empowers the thing I set out to accomplish. He uses me as a tool or instrument to do what He wants done.

A~ I sat down to read my Bible this morning, for the first time in a couple days, hoping to hear a different word from the Lord on a different topic. But that did not happen. He has laid something on my heart, confirmed it through others, and now again through Scripture as I quiet my heart and mind before Him. Uhggggggg! Like a baby, I am internally screaming, “I don’t wanna!” It is hard and scary and uncomfortable. It could cost me a friendship…..maybe several. I would rather just let things lie and go on my merry way. But His word to me tells me I must labor/put forth effort, but that He is not only with me as I do but actually doing the thing through me. Fine, I’ll do it!

P~ Jesus , I know full well what I need to do and I need You to do it. I don’t have the right words or the right attitude when left to my own devices. I don’t even want to face this at all. But I offer up my feeble efforts for You to use as You will to speak into someone’s life

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

