June 14 1 Kings 15; 2 Chronicles 13,14; Philippians 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Let God Hear the Sound of Your Battle Cry | Vicki Burns

S~ Judah turned and saw that they were being attacked at both front and rear. Then they cried out to the Lord. The priests blew their trumpets :15and the men of Judah raised the battle cry. At the sound of their battle cry God routed Jeroboam and all Israel before Abijah and Judah.  II Chronicles 13:14-15 (NIV)

O~ This event takes place during the time of the Divided Israel where God’s people fought each other, Abijah of Judah the tribe of David in the south against Jeroboam I of Israel in the North who ran straight to idol worship in forsaking the God of their fathers.

The scene opens with an invitation. Abijah stood on a mountain beseeching Jeroboam and all Israel to listen to him. He admitted faults committed by his father were out of the impropriety of youth. He skillfully appeals to their sentimentality in coming home to their God and His people under the protection and promises of God.

Abijah also does not skirt around the elephant in the room of Israel’s army standing double that of Judah’s. Yet he warns them (vs.12) God is with us; he is our leader, His priests with their trumpets will sound the battle cry against you. Men of Israel, do not fight against the Lord, the God of your fathers, for you will not succeed. (NIV)

Even as Abijah was pleading, Jeroboam in rebellion set up a rear ambush surrounding Judah. When Judah’s men discovered this they responded by crying out to the Lord.Then, as warned, the priests blew their trumpets and the men of Judah raised the battle cry.At the sound of their battle cry God routed Jeroboam and all Israel before Abijah and Judah.”

So the first cry was a desperate cry of petition to the Lord. They faced imminent danger. God a l w a y s hears our desperate, sincere cries for help. It was a prayer of petition for God’s mercy. They were not assured of the answer God would give but by the time of the second cry, the battle cry, the danger was no longer primary. Rather, they were committed to do or die and with this cry was a proclamation that God will save us or He will not but either way they would stand or fall to honor the God of their fathers. This battle cry was shouted to the sound of the priests blowing hard and long on their trumpets. God was there. He did the routing against all odds, the way He tends to do so that all would know He intervened.

A~ I like to think that I am on the right side of every argument, but I know better, because “the heart is wicked. Who can know it except the Lord?” I am just as likely in error as the next person. So, when (not if) division arises my first cry has to be with an open, humble heart to God who knows my heart. T i m e AND an open heart to actually hear what God is saying are required in order for me to receive direction from God. If I show up full of what I think, as I tend to do, there’s no room to receive…anything. As I sit with God I am reminded how helpless and prone to fall I am. As I sit with God I just might get a glimpse as to just how big and powerful, loving and patient He is. God changes me when I cry out to Him.

As I listen, I just may hear the first trills of a message…a cry…a battle cry. If I sit with it long enough I just might begin to feel it welling up into my bones. It is truth from God. It is a statement and not a question. It is a promise…a hope. It is faith. “God is who He said He is and is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

P~ Let my prayers cry out to You, Lord. Teach me to cast my cares on You because You care for me. Where I need to stand firm in places of contention, make me strong, not prideful and brash, but strong. Speak to me my battle cry. Help me shout it to the sound of Your Holy Spirit trumpets and march forward because You are my “Leader,” the God of my fathers in whom is all my hope and stay.

CHOOSE JOY! | Kim Chipman

S~ Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! Philippians 4:4 (NLT)

O~ Joy is fruit of Your Spirit. This is a command…to always be joyful. Always.

A~ Sometimes life and relationships are hard. Sometimes painful. Often I struggle wot find joy. I don’t know why, it’s just always been a thing for me for some reason. You wouldn’t command it if it weren’t attainable. I need to get my thoughts bent towards positives…towards JOY! Choose joy!

P~ Help! I don’t know why, but this is a challenge. Please help me! I have so much to be thankful for, help me CHOOSE JOY! I love You!

Praying about everything | Nikki Metzger

S~ Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done. Philippians 4:6 (NLT)

O/A/P ~ God, I am worried.  Getting a house ready to sell, putting it on the market, having two offers fall through, needing a new roof, and now keeping it on the market longer and having to keep it ‘show’ ready is too much for me.  I know You are working good through this type of stress and growing patience in me, but I’m not trusting it all to you.  I know I’m not trusting because my stomach is super upset, my heart is pounding and I’m pretty sure that I’m having panic attacks!

You tell me not to worry, instead to pray.  So I’m praying!  I need a new roof, but have no clue how to go about that, and to find someone who is honest……….the house needs to sell, but two offers have fallen through, Lord, do You have a family picked out for our home?  Where are they?  Can you send them?  Or maybe we aren’t supposed to sell our house?  I’m really not sure, it seemed that the ‘stars aligned’ on moving, but maybe we missed something?

God, I really just need You.  Really, really.  But this house thing is in front of my face and not leaving!  God, I need to just give this to You and the process of it, but it doesn’t seem to be working.  Thank You for our home, thank You for the sweet memories You gave us here, thank You for that day I brought my babies home here and started crying because I couldn’t believe the hospital would actually let me bring home two kids and be in charge of them!

Thank You for that pull out cupboard that Chad made me when we first got married, You’ve grown my heart so much about marriage and love in this place!  Thank You for bedtime prayers done over time in the bedrooms, thank You for the living room where people have gathered to laugh and cry and be loved in this place!  You are so good, I am so grateful!  May Your will be done with this home, may it be a place of continued love and grace and place to bring You glory!  I love You!!  I pray this all in Jesus’ Name!

Pray My Worries Away | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6,7 (NLT)

Then Asa cried out to the Lord his God, “O Lord, no one but you can help the powerless against the mighty! Help us, O Lord our God, for we trust in you alone. 2 Chronicles 15:11 (NLT)

O~ Instead of worrying—pray! I can experience God’s peace when I do this and it will guard my heart and mind. ❤   The second verse is an example of Asa, king of Judah, doing just that—praying instead of worrying—when an army of a million men came against his army of 528,000!

A~ I need to pray more, which will help me to worry less.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for Jesus.  Thank you for your love for me, and for faith! Thank you for the peace that you give when I pray my worries to you.  I love you too.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on June 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

