June 12 1 Kings 12; 2 Chronicles 10,11; Philippians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Counsel of Those That Went Before Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But Rehoboam spoke harshly to them, for he rejected the advice of the older counselors,…    1 Kings 12:14 (NLT)

O~ Rehoboam received advice from older counselors but he rejected it and instead asked the opinion of the young men that grew up with him (verse 8).

A~ I am thankful for the older godly women God placed in my life when I go through rough patches. Their advice is like water to my dry, thirsty soul.  It gave me hope and encouraged my faith.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for the lovely, godly women you have placed in my life, including those that are maybe not so much older in physical years but in spiritual years.  I love you too.

Simple to Understand…HARD to Do! | Kim Chipman

S~ In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus: Philipppians 2:5 (NIV)

O~ This section is titled “Imitating Christ’s Humility” in my Bible. The urging is to be like-minded, be in one spirit, be selfless, be humble…be a servant.

Jesus could have used His position to His advantage, but He chose not to. He set aside the privileges of being God to submit to the Father’s will for Him. He is my perfect human example.

A~ Sounds simple enough, but while this is simple to understand it is HARD to do.

Once again I am reminded that the example of humble servanthood in Jesus does not come with a qualifier on other people being nice first. Luke 6:32 If you love only those who love you, why should you get credit for that? Even sinners love those who love them!

Again, Jesus is my perfect example. Luke 23:34a “Jesus said, ‘Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.’”

Jesus served and sacrificed for people that hated Him. In Your Word You address how I am to behave, the condition of my heart, regardless of – with no requirements on or parameters around – anyone else’s choices/behavior OR my FEEEEEEELINGS.

Ugh.

Hard.

But with You all things are possible!

P~ I love You! Help me to honor You with my life and in my relationships. The doing part is tough. Help me crucify my flesh and live for You. For Your glory.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

