June 11 Song of Solomon 5,6,7,8; Philippians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

What really matters? | Nikki Metzger

S~ For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. Philippians 1:10 (NLT)

O~ Paul is encouraging the church.

A~ I think what Paul was saying is that once you know what really matters, then you can live your life according to that.  I live my life in a way that shows my priorities, everyone does.  Living life speaks volumes to what matters to me.

We are in baseball season, a tough one because the team can’t quite pull it together.  It’s pretty ugly every game, but we are consistent in losing.  I’ve been feeling down about this, I just want the team to win ONE game.  And when we play a team that is arrogant and disrespectful, I really want our sweet boys to beat them.

But what really matters this season of baseball?  I mean REALLY matters?  is it winning?  In August, will winning matter?  In one year, will winning mater?  In ten years, will winning matter?  What about eternity?  Looking at this disappointing baseball season through the eyes of eternity does winning really matter?

No, winning does not matter!  The boys matter, their character matters, the baseball family they’ve created matters, the patience I’ve seen grow in my husband (the coach) matters, overcoming disappointment matters!

P~ Father,  You don’t waste anything!  Even a losing baseball season!  I love You!

Worthy | Kim Chipman

S~ Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Philippians 1:27a (NIV)

O~ *whatever happens – So, regardless of my circumstances. No excuses.

*conduct yourselves in a manner – live your life in such a way, make choices about behavior, language, thoughts, priorities, where I go and what I do.

*worthy [wurth ee] having adequate or great merit, character, or value.

*of the gospel of Christ – gospel means “good news”. The gospel of Christ is the amazingly good news that Jesuss was the Son of God, He was born, lived, was crucified, died, was buried, and rose from the dead.He did all of that to be the ultimate, final sacrifice to make us right with God, saving our soul for eternity. That is good news!!

So, my life should be consistent with the gospel. My choices should reflect Your sacrifice, love and grace.

**note: You don’t tell me how I should feel. You tell me how I should behave…”whatever happens”. So, in spite of whatever I might be feeling I should conduct myself this way.

A~ Does my conduct reflect You, Jesus? Sometimes, yes. Often, no. I get frustrated and selfish and I do not conduct myself in a manner worthy of the gospel. Remembering my WHY can help. My life is for YOU. Not for ME. For YOU.

P~ Lord, help me TODAY to live a life worthy of You. Help my focus to be on glorifying You, not me. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on June 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

