June 10 Song of Solomon 1,2,3,4; Ephesians 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Spiritual Eyes=Faith | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ In every battle you will need faith as your shield to stop the fiery arrows aimed at you by Satan. Ephesians 6:16 (NLT)

O & A~ Every battle I face requires faith to fight what Satan throws my way. Faith shields me and without it I will be vulnerable to Satan’s arrows.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for faith. Thank you for fighting for me. Faith takes me beyond what I see and beyond my circumstances. Please remind me to filter what I see through faith.

Extinguish! | Kim Chipman

S~ In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Ephesians 6:16 (NIV)

O~The armor of God. Each piece is so important, but today this stood out to me. Lately I’ve been reminded of WHO the enemy is. Not people, but EVIL. And I get such a visual of those flaming arrows flying at me…

“You’re not enough”

“You should…”

“Why would you think THAT!?”

“You’re upset about WHAT?”

“Why didn’t you…”

“Why don’t you ever…”

“You’ll never change”

“You’ve been battling this for YEARS”

“What makes you think you can make a difference?”

“That’s no big deal, it doesn’t really matter”

“You should quit while you’re ahead”

“Why bother?”

Some of these voices are inside my head. Some of them come from outside. They are flaming arrows of the evil one.

A/P~ TODAY – insert: shield of faith. Those words are meant to burn as those flaming arrows make contact. Faith neutralizes it. Extinguishes it. “You’re not enough”…I AM is enough and You live within me. I trust You. You made me the way I am with feelings and gifts and passions…I have a purpose. I choose to trust you today. I choose to be still and know You are God (and I am not). I choose to love lavishly, even when I’m hurting, and leave the rest at Your feet. I trust that You see me, know me, and love me. I choose trust!

Let’s Talk | Kelley Deases

S~ Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel. Ephesians 6:19 (NIV)

O~ In the margin of my Bible, I have Lysa Terkeurst’s name written by this verse. She began Proverbs 31 Ministries and is a speaker and author of several books I have read and/or studied in a small group setting. She made reference to this verse in Unglued, as she related how she thought through her response to someone who had said something hurtful to her daughter. Lysa noted we have an Enemy … and it is not the person who hurt or offended us. This Enemy would love to see us get down in the mud, lash out, hurl insults, and hold onto grudges. He is all about destroying our relationships and lying to us about who we are in Christ. She chose grace.

A~ I can relate to Lysa’s dilemma, as I have had an issue of my own surface over the last couple weeks involving a kid playing too rough with and hurting my 8-year-old son, not once but twice in a short span of time. If this had been a stranger or an acquaintance, we could just steer clear of the kid and his family. But I am friends with his mother and she attends my Bible study. We have both had to navigate some difficult emotions and conversations with each other and our sons to reach a tenuous resolution, keeping in mind The Enemy would love to see this blow up and shatter the friendships formed by our sons, our husbands and ourselves… and cause division at the school/Bible study/the body of Christ. We are trying to take a stand  against all that — “fearlessly mak[ing] known the mystery of the gospel” — as we seek to talk and mend and repair and protect, not tear down each other, our relationship, or our witness.

P~ Jesus, Thank You for protecting my little boy from serious injury. And thank You for drawing near to all of us as we pray and teach our kids and attempt to restore what has been broken.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

