June 8 Ecclesiastes 7,8,9; Ephesians 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Checklist | Michelle Myers

S~ For the living know that they will die, but the dead know nothing; they have no further reward and even the memory of them is forgotten. Ecclesiastes 9:5 (NIV)

O/A~ I know that I can be a bit of a taskmaster, and can easily lose focus in regards to what the true point of something is.  I want to cram a lot into my time here on earth, but many times lose focus of what I am “cramming” for. I see it as another check on my to do list.  Like taking my kids some place they have been wanting to go.  Once I get them there, I am ready to check it off of my list.  I can easily forget that I am supposed to be enjoying them, and much of the enjoyment for me, is watching them enjoy something.  When i go grocery shopping, I am on a mission.  My husband will joke and play around with our girls, and this has annoyed me at times.  I am usually trying to stay focused on what I need.  I want to get in and out of the store.  This can make me a not-so-fun person to live with at times.

In our fast paced culture, it is hard to remember to slow down, appreciate, and enjoy the journey.  I was walking into my Dr.’s office today, and got behind an elderly woman who was walking pretty slow.  I was focused on getting checked in.  I went through strategies in my head, on how to get around her.  Then realized that I would essentially be cutting in front of her.  That would be rude.  Then You reminded me of YOUR checklist….

–I needed to slow down anyway, I need to be thankful that “slow woman” was helping me do that.  I needed to enjoy the process of walking, breathing, getting into the Dr., etc.

–If You decide to be graceful enough to me and let me live to be her age, I too will be that slow someday!

–How would I want someone to react to me in those circumstances?

–What was more important, how you represent Me or getting checked in?

We both ended up checking in, even the person slowly following me, got checked in.  I am assuming that we all got to see our Dr.’s.  What I have learned, but can easily forget, is that my great-grandchildren may not remember me, know my name, etc.; but I am hoping that the things that I have lived for, how I have carried myself on this planet, and the character that I present to my fellow human beings, will be reflected in future generations.

P~ Thank you God for the gentle reminder today at the Dr.’s office.  Please help me slow down, and remember that this journey will come to an end.  I hope not, but it honestly could be later today, tomorrow, or it could be 30 years from now.  Please help me remember that Your checklist is way more important than mine!

Living Worthy of My Call | Kim Chipman

S~ Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Ephesians 4:2 (NIV)

O~ This verse hangs in my kitchen. I printed it out and put it on our wall.

ephesians4_2

I put it there because it often feels like in our home is where we all become the very least patient, gentle and humble. I was thinking, of course, about how much my (teen/tween/hormonal, moody) children need this daily reminder…but…

A~ BOY, do I need this reminder! Every moment of every day!

*Be completely humble. Completely!

*Be PATIENT!

*Bear with one another IN LOVE (not just tolerate each other…in love)

This instruction comes right after “I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received”. The calling I have received? Love god, love people. Especially MY people. Really love them. Sacrificially. Humbly. Patiently.

My, my. This is challenging! I’m super selfish! I like things my way, on my schedule, with no complaining from the peanut gallery thankyouverymuch.

P~ Lord, be my strength today! Help me to live out my calling as Your ambassador by living out sacrificial LOVE well – especially in my home with my family. I love You!

True Forgiveness | Robin Laney

S~ Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other just as Christ God forgave you. Ephesians 4:32 (NIV)

O~ Forgiveness is a choice and our model for it is Jesus. His forgiveness for us was done out of great love and compassion for us for our salvation and to give us abundant life here on earth. It was complete and final, sacrificial, and offered in full obedience to God.

A~ In my life, I have wrestled with the forgiveness of others. It’s a struggle, sometimes, to fully forgive like God forgives. I have found myself holding on to my feelings of hurt, wallowing in my ‘right’ to be angry, and refusing to trust again. After all, they can’t just get away with what they have done, right? They should suffer as much as I have.

In one particular instance, a few years back, God really worked me over in this area. He asked me to let go of years of past hurts and anger and frustrations; to give up all of my memories of past irritations, offenses, and betrayals so as not to add them on to future conflicts; to see the people who had hurt me through His eyes of love and compassion instead of my self-serving ones; to examine my own actions in the relationship  from their perspective, and to consider that their salvation and my witness for Christ were more important than my feelings. It was tough to say, “Yes,” yet, once I did, I experienced such freedom and reconciliation and restoration. It took an all-out, heart wrenching prayer for His help, a willingness to sacrifice myself for the sake of the relationship and the Kingdom, full obedience, true faith, and an amazing work of the Holy Spirit.

Working through this verse today has shown me other situations that I have been hanging on to in my heart that need to be worked through and forgiven completely. I have some notes written in my Bible regarding forgiveness. I wrote, “Steps to forgiveness: 1)Identify who you are angry with, 2)Determine what they owe you, 3)Decide to cancel the debt. I also wrote, “Forgiveness doesn’t make sense unless you are a forgiven person.” I know that it is only through Christ’s example of forgiveness of me and the power of the Holy Spirit am I able to forgive others.

P~ Lord, thank you for your forgiveness of me! I do not deserve it yet you offer it freely and completely so that I might have life now and eternally with You. Please show me those hurts that I am holding on to and help me to release them fully.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

unnamed

Posted on June 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

