June 7 Ecclesiastes 4,5,6; Psalms 18; Ephesians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Value of Relationship | Kelley Deases

S~ Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. Ecclesiastes 4:12 (NIV)

O~ This is wedding season. Not for my friends, but my older son’s crowd. In just the past three weeks, we have attended the wedding ceremony of two of his close friends who married each other, my son purchased an engagement ring with plans to propose this summer, two of his other friends announced their engagements, and my son informed me of his plans to travel to PA in August to stand up for a college roommate. Wow! When did all this happen?! Me, mother-of-the-groom?!!!

A~ The thing I wish I could impress upon all these “kids,” though I know they wouldn’t believe me and have to learn on their own, is this: Marriage is HARD, raising kids is HARDER, but it is so worth it. Worth fighting for. I have often mused, in a moment of conflict or heartache, “Wouldn’t I be better off on my own?” Well, it might be easier, but ultimately my life would be so much poorer for it and God would not have been able to teach me near the lessons I’ve learned from making a commitment, suffering loss and second chances, participating in bringing new life into the world, being sacrificial, being humbled, and experiencing the joy and depth of unconditional love. Hang in there, kids! And to myself: Hang in there, Kel!

P~ Jesus, Meet these young people as they start out on their journeys: Seth & Erin, Thomas & Shelby, Mark & Emily, Blaize & Hannah, and Ryan & Jane. And us, Lord, continue to sustain us through the mundane and the difficult … and the miraculous!

Gladness of Heart | Michelle Myers

S~ Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, to accept his lot and be happy in his work–this is a gift from God.  He seldom reflects on the days of his life, because God keeps him occupied with gladness of heart. Ecclesiastes 5:19-20 (NIV)

O~ Enjoying the work that I have been given to do by You, and the wealth and possessions that You have given to me is a gift from You.  When they do occur, it doesn’t take me nearly as long to get back on track, and remember the blessings You have provided for me.

To get me here, You have had to take me through some hard Ecclesiastes periods, where I was “chasing after the wind” and whether I got what I wanted or not, I was not content.  I now view wealth and possessions differently, and realize how wealthy You have made me, and that You have given me more than I need. There is responsibility with that, and I take that responsibility seriously.

P~ Thank you God for Your economy.  Continue to help me be content and have “gladness in my heart”, when it comes to the blessings You have provided for me, and the work You have given me to do.

We Are a Part of Each Other | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So please don’t despair because of what they are doing to me here.  It is for you that I am suffering, so you should feel honored and encouraged. Ephesians 3:13 (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible:

Why should Paul’s suffering make the Ephesians feel honored and encouraged?  If Paul had not preached the Good News, he would not be in jail—but then the Ephesians would not have heard the Good News and been converted either.  Just as a mother endures the pain of childbirth in order to bring new life into the world, Paul endured the pain of persecution in order to bring new believers to Christ.  Obeying Christ in never easy.  He calls you to take your cross and follow him (Matthew 16:24) that is, to be willing to endure pain so that God’s message of salvation can reach the entire world.  We should feel honored that others have suffered and sacrificed for us so that we might reap the benefit.

A~ I am thankful for those that suffered and sacrificed for me.  I can expect as a follower of Christ to suffer and sacrifice for others.

P~ Dear Father, you have not created me to be an island.  I am a part of others’ lives as they are a part of mine.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

unnamed

Posted on June 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congratulations Kelley! 🙂

Leave a Reply

