June 6 Ecclesiastes 1,2,3; Psalms 45; Ephesians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not Meaningless | Kelley Deases

S~  There is no remembrance of men of old, and even those who are yet to come will not be remembered by those who follow. Ecclesiastes 1:11 (NIV)

O~  I am reading a book right now given to me by my sister called Why Wait? by Rob Quillen. It is the true account of the author, who struck up a conversation and formed an immediate friendship with a man on September 10, 2001, who ended up being the pilot of Flight 93, the flight that went down the following day in the 9/11 attacks. The new friend took it upon himself to carry out the deceased pilot’s dream of having his autistic son meet his hero, Jeff Gordon, a NASCAR driver. I have not read to the end, but I can only speculate how meaningful this kindness was to the son under these circumstances. I am sure he will never forget that man and what he did to honor his dad’s memory.

A~  I have known similar “saints” in my life who I could never forget, for at some point, each left a mark and impacted my life and faith profoundly.  So I reject the Teacher’s cynicism which finds no meaning in this existence and nothing new under the sun. These people and their willingness to pour into my life have certainly given meaning to mine…and, no doubt, as they got to be used of the Holy Spirit, their lives were likewise injected with meaning!. Each will be remembered until our reunion in heaven.

P~  Father, You provide the ultimate meaning for why we are here and what it’s all about. I will remember what You have done through Your servants and be sensitive to the movement of Your Spirit when He compels me to impact the life of another.

Enjoy the Life God Gave Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ God has made everything beautiful for its own time.  He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end.  And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.  Ecclesiastes 3:11-13 (NLT)

O & A~ Because I am human, I am limited in my knowledge and wisdom.  But I belong to God, who isn’t limited.  Therefore I can find rest and peace in him, and I can trust him with what I face in life.  The second verse reminds me to live in the present; to be thankful for my work and enjoy myself.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for what you have given to me, my portion.  Thank you for being with me.  This is so freeing: help me to live wisely but at the same time to not try to worry about what’s in the future and enjoy life and those in my life.

Perspective | Michelle Myers

S~ He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.  I know that there is nothing better for men than to be happy and do good while they live.  That everyone may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil—this is the gift from God.  Ecclesiastes 3:11-14 (NIV)

O~ Having an eternal perspective has made my work more meaningful.  There is more satisfaction in that.  Whether it was dealing with my students, when I was teaching or the work I put into raising my own kids as their mother, or the work I put into my marriage as a wife; gaining an eternal perspective, has really put it into perspective the importance and magnitude of it for me.

A~ I spoke with my aunt the other day. A few years ago, her and my uncle, who was retired, sold their house and she quit her job, so they could move to Arizona.  She found a new job down there, but did not like it as well.  Her old position, here, opened up again and was offered to her. Both her and her husband moved back.

She is happy that they are back, and she is enjoying her job again.  She said, “I wish I never would have quit.”  She talked about having to start all over, with being on the standard 90 day probation. She talked about losing her seniority.  I listened and then told her that none of that will really matter in the end.  She said that she knew that, but it was still hard.  I get that.  Giving up or losing what you have spent years working for is a hard pill to swallow.

My aunt is not a believer, and does not have eternity in her heart.  It kind of made me sad, because without that, I don’t know how I would have found satisfaction in my work again.  Teaching alternative kids was a pretty thankless job.  When I lose perspective, I can easily view being a stay-at-home mom as being a thankless job.  And, my husband, who tries his best and is more aware than he used to be, can also just seem to magnify those feelings for me, because honestly, he has no true idea of what it takes to run a household.  Just as I have no idea what it feels like to run a bank or keep up with the corporate America.

I now know, that I am working with souls, for a greater purpose than a pay check, a good test score, a child who will be what I envisioned them being, etc.  When I am doing what I do for You, with the right heart, I am pleasing You, which should be (but I can lose perspective, just like anyone else) way better than a worldly thank you from my students, children, or spouse.

P~ Thank you God for helping me see and understand Your perspective.  I pray that my aunt can encounter You, believe in You, and start to foster a relationship with You.  Otherwise, she will continue to struggle with seeing beyond the loss, the failed attempts, and the worldly junk that really doesn’t matter in the end.

Made For A Purpose | guest post

S~ For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago. Ephesians 2:10 (NLT)

O~ “For we are God’s masterpiece” – we are God’s best piece of work; the result of a fine and skilled craftsman; the best that can be made; priceless; unique; one of a kind.

“He has created us anew in Christ Jesus” – because of our belief in Jesus – in what He did on the cross and that He rose again – we are made new, in a different and better way; made complete.

“so we can do” – so we are able to; we can!

“the good things” – good deeds; acts of kindness; loving one another; spreading hope; sharing joy; promoting peace; showing and modeling patience; being gentle in our words and actions; having self-control.  And ALL that results from those “good things.”

“He planned for us long ago” – our life has a purpose. God planned for us to be born at a set time and place (Acts 17:26) for His purpose.  That we would reach out and find Him (Acts 17:27), and that others would see Him through us. He told Jeremiah (and He tells ME!), “For I know the plans I have for you,” (Jer. 29:11), and “Before you were formed in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations” (Jer. 1:5).  I am where I am today, because it was (and is) all part of God’s bigger plan.

A~ Do I know who I am?  I mean, do I really, really, REALLY get it?  I am Christ’s masterpiece!  His best work!  Because of Jesus, my eyes, ears, and heart can begin to see and know what I am here for.  I was made for such a time as this.  Before I was even conceived, You knew me. You know the plans you have for me.  Good plans.

But for so long I refused to believe that.

What would happen now, if I fully believed?  If I full embraced the truth that you know me.  You love me – completely – the way that I am.  That You really do believe in me.  Whose life would it impact most?  Mine? Or those around me? Knowing You, the answer is “both.”

I am your masterpiece – made new by the work of Jesus on the cross, so I could do what You made me for.  Made for a purpose. Your beautiful and glorious purpose.  Made for You. 

P~ Jesus, thank You.  Thank You for Your work on the cross.  Thank You for not leaving me on my own to figure things out.  Thank You for reminding me of my purpose – to love You and to love others.  In this way, Your name will be glorified.  Help me to walk boldly into my calling.  I cannot do this without you.  Of course, You never intended me to.  You were – and are – always with me.  I love you so.  Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

