June 5 Proverbs 30,31; Psalms 33; Ephesians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Observations from Proverbs 30 | Joni Tyner

S~ I am too stupid to be human—and I lack common sense. Verse 2

Who but God goes up to heaven and comes back down?

Who holds the wind in his fists?

Who has created the whole wide world?  Verse 4

Help me to never to tell a lie.

Second, give me neither poverty nor riches!

Give me just enough to satisfy my needs.  Verse 8

Some people curse their father and do not thank their mother.

They are pure in their own yes, but they are filthy and unwashed.  Verse 11-12.

If you have been a fool by being proud or plotting evil, cover your mouth in shame.  Verse 32.

O~ The writer of Proverbs 30 is evaluating himself and reflecting on some relevant truths for today’s culture.

  1. He admits he is stupid and lacks common sense if he doesn’t acknowledge God’s almighty power.  He CREATED the world and everything related to it.   He alone is worthy of our worship.
  2. Honesty and integrity are the building block for everything else.
  3. Contentment!!!  Too much poverty or too much stuff causes our hearts and minds to move away from God.
  4. Be thankful.  This starts with our families.   God placed us in our families for a purpose.  Our families are flawed and imperfect, but God can use that environment to bring glory.
  5. The sin of thinking we are better than others or plotting  (wishing) evil to others displeases God.

A/P~ Dear Lord, please give me humility and common sense.  Yes!!!!!- I desire to be a person that has common sense!.  Guide my words so that I would always be truthful and filled with kindness.  As I age, instill in me a great contentment for the things of God—remove the constant desire I have for the things of the world.  Thank you for my family,  over the weekend, I have grown closer to my mom and brothers,  I know that is ALL YOU, because those relationships have been strained for many years.  Please continue to help me see them as You see them and love them as You love them.   Thank you for this beautiful day. 🙂

Cheerleader Wife | Kelley Deases

S~ She [a wife of noble character] brings him [her husband] good, not harm, all the days of her life. Proverbs 31:12 (NIV)

O~  Terri Schenzel was a wife and a mother and Bible teacher and an amazing woman of God. She and her husband, Ty, a pastor and founder of the Hope Center for Kids in Omaha, were tragically killed in an automobile accident nearly a year ago, at ages 59 and 54, respectively. But one of the great passions and enduring legacies of Ty and Terry’s lives are the marriages they poured into. They spoke at quarterly seminars to married and engaged couples (see www.hopefilledmarriage.org) seeking to support, empower, and motivate couples to hang in there and to truly grasp the great joy marriage was intended by God to be.

One of the ideas Terry would always put forth was that we, as wives, should be our husbands’ greatest cheerleader. He may feel beaten down by the world — at his job, on the athletic field, at Home Depot — but we have the great pleasure of showing him deference and cheering him on in his endeavors. Pastor Ty always emphasized his wife’s support as invaluable in the formation and sustaining of the Hope Center (which you could read more about in A Thousand Screaming Mules, by Ty Schenzel).

A~ My husband is setting out to sell a rental property which he has owned for the whole length of our marriage, an idea I very much support as the upkeep and running of this multi-tenant house is time-consuming and often takes time away from his primary job and his family. This is a great opportunity for me to be his personal cheerleader, a support and help, advising when he asks for advice and staying silent when he does not.

P~ Father, Thank You for the Proverbs 31 picture of what a noble wife looks like. May I hold me actions and attitudes up to that standard and not default to comparing myself to others or just doing whatever I am feeling at the moment.

Wisdom Comes from God | guest post

S~ She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:26 (NLT)

O~  “She speaks with wisdom” – her words are wise – knowledgeable, full of experience. She has assessed the situation to the best of her ability, before she speaks. She is someone who spends time with the Lord – He is the One who gives her wisdom.

“faithful instruction is on her tongue” – Her directions are consistent; dependable.  The NIV reads, “she gives instructions with kindness.” Her words are the ones you want to follow; you can trust her judgement. She can be trusted.

A~ I want to speak with wisdom. If my words are what people remember most about me – let them be kind.  A word spoken cannot be taken back.  It is imprinted on the mind and heart of the one who receives it.  I need to think before I speak. I need to seek wise counsel before I make big decisions.  I need to pray about everything (Phil. 4:6).  God knows what I need to do, so I should go to Him for instruction and guidance…first.  Before I run to another friend or confidant, I must go to Him, and seek His wisdom.  If I want to be wise, I must ask God (James 1:5).  Wisdom comes from God.

The more time you spend with someone, the more you begin to act and speak like them.  If I want to speak with wisdom, doesn’t it make the most sense to hang out more with the wisest man I know?

P~ Lord, please help me to be wise.  Give me your eyes to see and ears to hear You – and Your will for my life.  Help me to do my job well.  Help my words to be faithful and kind. I need You, Father. I need Your presence in my life.  I am so grateful for Jesus – for the cross.  Thank you for making a way for me to know Your heart.  I love you so much. Amen.

Not Perfectly Proverbs 31 | Michelle Myers

S~ She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Proverbs 31:27 (NIV)

O~ This is just one of the attributes listed in Proverbs 31, which is headed in my Bible as, “The Wife of Noble Character”.  When I read the entire thing, I often feel like I am failing at some of those things….many of those things….ok, all of those things.  Holy cow, God, I often feel like doing these things isn’t even part of the character You gave me.  I got a D in Home Economics.  Nobody is going to want to buy linen garments made by me, including me.  It all sounds so…….perfect, and I am in no way, shape, or form PERFECT.

A~ As I write this, we came off of a pretty simple, fun, and relaxing Memorial Day weekend as a family.  I am so grateful for the people who made the sacrifices they did, so my family could have the freedoms that we do.

Then Tuesday morning hit, right away it was back to the grind.  My husband planned on slowly moseying into work, and maybe even going to help one of our pastors move in the morning. However, he gets word that one of his employees called in, and with his bank already being short staffed, his mosey had to turn into more of a sprint.  My oldest daughter had an early orthodontist appointment.  My youngest was moving slowly getting up.  Although it is break, and I want my girls to have down time, they can easily get into hibernation mode and only come out, not only from their room, but from the covers on their bed, when they wants or need something.  Therefore, I actively encouraged my youngest to at least get up, get ready for the day, and start something….a devotional, a chore, reading her book…..something!

In the orthodontist’s office, I saw a handful of mothers with multiple children a lot younger than my fifteen year old.  They were all going nuts in some way, shape or form.  Some were loud because they were excited to play with the toys in the waiting area, or they just finished their exam and had gotten a balloon.  Some were loud because they didn’t want to be there or be held by their mother. I remembered those days of craziness, part of me was relieved that we had surpassed that and am in a different type of craziness and  part of me was sad that my kids are growing up so fast!

Then I realized as I watched mothers tend to their kids, make additional appointments, deal with insurance issues, etc. that just like them, I am watching over the affairs of my household.  I don’t do it perfectly.  Sometimes, it is just doing what I can to make it through the next hour.  Like stopping at Burger King for breakfast, because it was close and I had a coupon. I much rather have fed myself and my daughter something healthier.  Most mornings I do.  But this morning, it was what I could do, to watch over the affairs of the household on the way to get her to the next affair, the orthodontist.

I came to realize that for our culture and our time period, I am much more of the Proverbs 31 wife, than I ever thought I was.  I work hard.  I cook (mostly).  I manage our finances.  I help people when they need it.  I fear the LORD.  I try and be wise in regards to my words, actions, and decisions.  And what I can’t do perfectly (which is a lot), is made perfect through You.

P~ Thank you God for Your insight into the “Perfect Proverbs 31 Wife”.  Please help me keep perspective, and remember that what I do, do for my family (for You) with the right heart, will always be made perfect through You, not me.

I pray for mercy and peace for the family whose son fell into a gorilla exhibit at the zoo.  There are brutal comments going around about her.  It stinks that the gorilla had to be killed.  I am a HUGE animal lover, and often prefer animals to people.  However, I can honestly say that when my kids were younger, there were times, they slipped away from me in the store.  Both have had “Code Adams” called for them.  My youngest used to think it was funny to hide in the middle of the racks in departments stores and watch me frantically search for her.  Those few moments in time, did not trump all the good that I did for them in keeping them safe and healthy.   It didn’t make me an irresponsible mom.  Heck, Your family left You and it took them a few days before they even realized it.  🙂

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

