June 2 Proverbs 22,23,24; Romans 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you!

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Choose The Right Path | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ True humility and fear of the Lord lead to riches, honor, and long life.

The deceitful walk a thorny, treacherous road; whoever values life will stay away.

Teach your children to choose the right path, and when they are older, they will remain on it.  Proverbs 22:4-6 (NLT)

O~ No matter how old we get we are his children and we can learn to choose the right path.  True humility and fear of the Lord is what helps us to come to him and keeps us from the deceitful, thorny treacherous road.

A~ I see my grown daughter walking in heartache that comes from choices she’s making.  We have had conversations and it’s clear that she can see what is the right thing but her heart pulls her and clouds her mind.

P~ Dear Father, this is your child too, please help her heart to be yours first.  Help her to have true humility and fear of the Lord that she will choose the right path and stay away from the deceitful treacherous road.

Focus My Mind | Kim Chipman

S~ Do not gaze at wine when it is red, when it sparkles in the cup, when it goes down smoothly! In the end it bites like a snake and poisons like a viper. Your eyes will see strange sights, and your mind will imagine confusing things. Proverbs 23:31-33 (NIV)

O~ You have told me many times that You want me to abstain from alcohol. I confess that I slowly slide back into the habit. Especially with wine. I really enjoy a glass or 2. The warning that stands out to me is “your mind will imagine confusing things”.

A~ I’ve really been focusing on my thought life. Although that wine “goes down smoothly” I don’t want anything to mess with my mind. The struggle is hard enough to get my thoughts to be pure and lovely and praiseworthy!

Obedience should be enough. I know you have asked me to do this – to abstain – and I justify my disobedience. Not. Good.

P~ Lord, forgive me! I have chosen my pleasure over obeying You. Thank You for Your Word. I love You!

Focus on the Fruit | guest post

S~ For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.  Romans 14:17 (NLT)

O~ “The Kingdom of God” – on earth as it is in heaven. This is what Jesus preached on. This is our home; these the customs and culture we are to follow.

“not a matter of what we eat or drink” – what people ate and drank in ancient culture was a big deal (whether or not food was offered to idols, whether or not one should drink wine, etc.).  I guess it could be likened today to what people drive or how they dress or how big their house is.  They are temporary things that give the illusion of something more important, but don’t effect our salvation.

“but living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit” – living a life; active; not sitting idly by waiting for Jesus to return; LIVING!

– a life of goodness – moral excellence

– a life of peace – calmness, but more than that; not chaotic; not dis-contentedness, not antsy; not nervous or on edge

– a life of joy – peace that lasts regardless of my circumstances; hope.

“in the Holy Spirit” – in order for these things to be genuine and true, they can really only be produced by the power of the Holy Spirit.  They are the fruit of the Spirit (Gal. 5:22-23).

A~ Focus on the fruit.  Are there things I need to give up because they are hindering the production of fruit in my life?  If so, I need to let them go. What can I do to help believers bear fruit?  It’s not about what they eat or drink (or what they drive, wear, or live in), it’s about living a life that produces fruit of the Spirit – that’s the evidence that His Kingdom is here on earth.  Eventually, it’s no longer about me – about who is right and who is wrong.  It’s about love. And love is what nourishes the soil of my heart.  It is what feeds my soul, and produces everlasting evidence.  I need to feed my spirit and Holy Spirit shows me how.  Reading Your Word and listening to Your voice is necessary if I want to have fertile ground and ripe fruit.

P~ Holy Spirit,

Thank you for meeting me here today. Thank you for your wisdom. Thanks for helping me to understand the Father’s desires for my life.  Please help me to produce good fruit.  Till up the soil in my heart, and water the tree of life in my soul.  Thank you for hearing my prayer.  I love you. Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

