May 31 Proverbs 16,17,18; Romans 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Making Plans | Tara Wiley

S~ To humans belong the plans of heart, but from the Lord come the proper answer of the tongue. All a person’s ways seem pure to him, but motives are weighed by the Lord. Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans. Proverbs 16:1-3 NIV

O~ Later in this chapter, Solomon says we sometimes think our ideas are good when they really end in death. Everyday choices can send us down disastrous paths if we aren’t continually seeking God to direct and establish our way.

A~ As a high schooler, I had a vivid dream of speaking to a group of parents about a violin program I was promoting – one I had personally developed. A couple of weeks ago, I woke up in the middle of the night again with the sudden inspiration of exactly what the program would look like. I’ve been thinking and talking about it ever since, have begun to put out feelers to recruit students (with positive responses), and will meet tomorrow with my current boss to present a business plan to incorporate the program into her current music academy.

Of course, I’ve prayed about it – but have I been fervently seeking the heart of God for direction? These verses – this entire chapter – remind me not to rush ahead of His clear direction.

P~ Lord, I want to pursue this. It has potential of being far more financially beneficial than my current teaching gig. It uses all the years of experience and gifting You’ve given me. It’s also far more work initially. I need wisdom to know when to start this, and how. Do I need an entire year to develop the program, or is this summer enough? Do I wait until my current CMA classes graduate, or begin a first ‘trial’ class this fall? Do I go ahead and put out the fleece to see what kind of response we get from former graduates? Lord, I know I don’t operate well under high stress. I also know this could be an amazing opportunity and I don’t want to miss it! Give me wisdom, Lord, to know what to do and when. Show me Your way.

Motives | Kim Chipman

S~ All a person’s ways seem pure to them, but motives are weighed by the Lord. Proverbs 16:2 (NIV)

O~ Not long ago my husband and I had an argument/discussion/”growth opportunity” and one of the things he said to me was that I believed something about myself that I was fooling myself about. Obviously, in the land of pride which is SO blinding, this is entirely possible. I know my heart, I know my thoughts, I know me…but here’s the reminder again of the blinding deception of pride.

A~ Lord, please help me see! My desire is to be humble. I struggle because I can’t know what I don’t know! When Todd said I was fooling myself I thought…”No I’m not, I know what I’m thinking. You’re wrong.” As I digested and reflected I realize that not seeing it does not mean it isn’t true! That’s how pride works! It’s BLIND!

P~ Please help me! Help me see! Show me! I don’t want to miss it. I desire a pure heart before You. I need the Holy Spirit to lead me into all truth. I know You are bigger than pride’s deceptive manipulations. You make a way for me to know You and honor You. Help me, I need You. I love You!

Gifts | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  God has given each of us the ability to do certain things well.  So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out when you have faith that God is speaking through you.  If your gift is that of serving others, serve them well.  If you are a teacher, do a good job of teaching.  If your gift is to encourage others, do it!  If you have money, share it generously.  If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously.  And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.  Romans 12: 6-8 (NLT)

O~  Notes from my bible:

Look at this list of gifts and imagine the kinds of people who would have each gift.  Prophets are often bold and articulate.  Servers (those in ministry) are faithful and loyal.  Teachers are clear thinkers.  Encouragers know how to motivate others.  Givers are generous and trusting.  Leaders are good organizers and managers.  Those who show kindness are caring people who are happy to give their time to others.  It would be difficult for one person to embody all these gifts.  An assertive prophet would not make a good counselor, and a generous giver might fail as a leader.  When you identify your own gifts (and this list is far from complete) ask how you can use them to build up God’s family.  At the same time realize your gifts can’t do the work of the church alone.  Be thankful for people whose gifts are completely different from yours.  Let your strengths balance their weaknesses, and be grateful that their abilities make up for your deficiencies.  Together you can build Christ’s church.

A~  This verse along with the notes were a great word for me today!  I get too easily distracted focusing on my weakness, by comparing…things that I think Satan uses to distract and discourage me.  God made us this way (with different strengths and weaknesses) to work together and build each other up.  I need to be thankful for my strengths as well as my weaknesses, because they both remind me I wasn’t meant to walk alone.

P~  Dear Father, you know me…undo those strongholds in my mind.  Thank you for this truth and reminder of how you made us to work together.  Help me not to let the harsh words of those that point out my weaknesses to stick, but to see it through your eyes.  Bring healing in these areas of my heart and mind where I have accepted those words as truth that I may walk in your truth.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Joni!! I’m stepping forward and waiting to see what God unfolds.

  2. Kim – Ask yourself if it is condemnation or conviction. Remember from the video series? Condemnation makes you think less of yourself and conviction makes you think more of God. Love you lady!

  3. Dear Lord, this morning I lift of your sweet child, Tara. Please infuse her with wisdom and guide her steps as she decides the appropriate direction she might go for this teaching opportunity. I pray it would be extremely clear and the the confirmation of having things fall into place as well as peace within her family’s schedule. You have gifted her with the beautiful gift of creativity and music and she desires to create a ripple effect of teaching others this talent. Thank you for her humble heart to desire to be within Your will.

Leave a Reply

