May 29 Proverbs 10,11,12; Romans 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Shut Yo Mouth | Kim Chipman

S~ Sin is not ended by multiplying words, but the prudent hold their tongues. Proverbs 10:19 (NIV)

O~ I need to internalize this today.

A~ I know I tend to lecture. I use too many words. This truth in Your Word says that sin is not ended by multiplying words. I certainly use that avenue.

The prudent hold their tongues, Kim.

Hold. Your. Tongue.

Shut. Yo. Mouth.

P~ Oh Lord! I struggle with this! Help! I need You! I love You.

Don’t Dread-Ask! | Vicki Burns

S~ What the wicked dread will overtake him; what the righteous desire will be granted. Proverbs 10:24 (ESV)

O~ Do we dread much? Such intense mental and emotional focus draws us right down into the very thing we dread! Contra wise, we can lay our desires before the Lord and He grants what is good. The point is highlighted by the contrast, dread is negative with “dreadful” consequences and desire is treated positively with “desirable” consequences.

A~ I can be like the Charlie Brown character walking around under a rain cloud. OR, I can choose to, in faith, present my desires before the Lord Who hears from heaven.

As a believing mom, I long to have my grown children walk with the Lord. I must find ways to insert myself into their lives. We all struggle from the baggage of raising them in a cult. We have to be intentional in building and maintaining relationship. This ache of my heart has been constant for decades now. I trust and I pray…and I desire. Well, just last night a person who stayed in our home back in the cult days contacted me. We talked for hours. They offered generous words of encouragement that I realized I longed to hear from my children. I still do. But there was healing in their words to me. They actually WANT to rebuild relationship with me!

P~ Help me Lord, to trust You. Help me bare my heart to You. You know what my heart longs for more than I. I thank and trust You to bring what is best as only You can do. Help me to not dread but ask. Matthew 21:22 says, Whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith. (ESV)

The Battle and the Big Picture | Michelle Myers

S~ The fruit of the righteous is the tree of life, and he who wins souls is wise. Proverbs 11:30 (NIV)

O~ When I am right with You, I get to enjoy life…..life here on earth; and eventually, everlasting life in heaven.  That’s the fruit.  Being right with You, means seeing beyond what is right in front of me.

A~ The battle for our souls is real.  As long as I am on earth, it will never end.  Everyone’s soul is in the battle…………..my soul, my husband’s soul, my children’s souls, the soul of the lady who is being rude in the grocery store, and even the soul of the man who stands in the front of a congregation preaching Your word every Sunday.  When I remember the battle and the big picture; I am much more likely to act and react in a manner that is going to win souls.

P~ Thank you God for the people You have brought into my life, that have helped win my soul. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to help win other people’s souls, for Your glory.  Please help me remember the battle and the big picture.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

