May 26 Proverbs 1,2,3; Romans 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Yield | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But now we have been released from the law, for we died with Christ, and we are no longer captive to its power.  Now we can really serve God, not in the old way by obeying the letter of the law, but in the new way, by the Spirit.  Romans 7:6 (NLT)

O~ Woo hoo!  Jesus released us from the law.  When following the law was the only way to be right with God, then with failing and sinning came condemnation, guilt and separation.  Now with Jesus there is grace, conviction of the Holy Spirit, grace, repentance, grace, and the help of the Holy Spirit.  Did I mention grace? God still feels the same way about sin, but he covered it with Jesus’ death and now we can approach him and receive grace.  My Pastor put it this way, “we don’t have to try harder, but instead yield harder to the Holy Spirit.”

A~ As I yield to the Spirit, I am released from the power of the law  and instead have strength, and wisdom, guidance, understanding and peace for what lies ahead.

P~ Heavenly Father, when you see me trying so hard to do it on my own, remind me to turn and yield to your Spirit.

Jesus!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ I have discovered this principle of life – that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong….Thank God!  The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 7: 21, 25 (NLT)

O/A ~ Yes! Yes! Yes!  All of Paul’s words here could be from my heart! I love God’s Word with my heart! But there is another power in me that is at war with my mind and it makes me a slave to the sin in me.  What hope is there for me this side of heaven?

Jesus. Jesus Christ my Lord!

I am of the same mind as Paul in this book of the bible.  One chapter Paul seems good, he is free from the power of sin.  The next chapter he’s down on himself because of the sin that lives in him.  What a mess!  Just like me, I’m a mess.  A good, hot mess!  Jesus just meets me in my mess.

P~ Thank You Jesus!  I love You!!

The Great Rescue | Robin Laney

S~ Wretched and miserable man that I am! Who will [rescue me and] set me free from this body of death [this corrupt, mortal existence]? Thanks be to God [for my deliverance] through Jesus Christ our Lord! Romans 7:24-25a (Amp)

O~ Paul is describing the battle going on within himself as his new nature and his old one fight. We all face this as our appetites and desires war against our mind. We do the things we don’t want to do and don’t do the things we ought. Our deliverance, our victory, can only come through Jesus Christ, our Lord.

A~ We had a friend named Billy. We met him on a chilly day on a corner in Downtown Omaha. He was living in a homeless shelter, at the time, and struggled terribly with alcoholism, a full-fledged physical addiction. We shared lunch with him (and a bunch of other friends) every Sunday for three years and developed quite a friendship. We had many conversations about God and how much He loved him. We gave him a Bible and urged him to read it.

BillyOne Sunday, I remember him coming to lunch and telling me that he had begun to read Romans. He looked at me, resigned, and said, “Robin, I read it and I’m not gettin’ in.” My heart was so sad because I couldn’t get him to understand God’s grace for Him. Billy left town when we quit having lunch on the corner and he moved to California. He would call Dave fairly regularly after he moved and would always send his love and say that he was praying for us. We hadn’t heard from Billy in quite some time and we feared the worst. Dave met up with a mutual friend the other day and learned that he had suffered a massive heart attack and had died. I don’t know what he believed about God’s love for him in his last days but I pray that he found out how much he meant to Jesus, that he was finally victorious over the battle with his body of death, that God’s mercy for him was so great and His love so extravagant that Billy was finally delivered and set free. Oh, to have just one more talk.

How hard it is to fully grasp God’s heart for us. We can’t imagine a love so great that He would rescue us even in our fiercest battles. I praise God for my deliverance through Jesus Christ and I long for every person to know the true freedom He offers. My heart breaks for those who live this life not knowing. I pray I see Billy when I get to Heaven.

P~ Lord, thank You for delivering me and for loving Billy. I pray You got through to him somehow and that he died knowing how much You love him and that he is resting, now, in Your presence.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

