May 25 1 Kings 10,11; 2 Chronicles 9; Romans 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

New | Kelley Deases

S~ We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life. Romans 6:4 (NIV)

O~ New life. New creation. His mercies are new every morning. All things new. God is in the business of creating new things and re-creating/restoring/refurbishing what has become dull or lifeless.

A~  Each new season ushers in new possibilities, especially for parents of school-aged kids. What lies ahead is an open canvas of three months within which we can help our young ones play, learn, travel, do, make, see, hear, read, explore, etc. As Christ has called us into new life with Him and through His power, this awakens the urge in each of us to have a do-over, a clean slate, and a new beginning. As we turn the calendar from May to June and from school days to summer days, remind me to start each day with You and take my cues throughout the day from You. Otherwise, left to my own selfish inclinations and frail strength, it will just be another summer, not a Holy Spirit guided, inspired, and empowered one.

P~ God, I desire Your Presence in all I do. As we step into this new season, with all its possibilities, add the meaning and the depth of passion and relationship that can only come from You.

Set Free – No Matter WHAT the Enemy Says | Tara Wiley

S~ We know that our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives. We are no longer slaves to sin. For when we died with Christ we were set free from the power of sin. Romans 6:6-7 NLT

O~ Oh, Satan is so good at convincing us that this is no longer true! The accuser whispers constantly, You can’t overcome this. You’re a lost cause. You can’t do anything good for God – you can’t even get through one day without sinning! God won’t use a screw-up like you. Another day wasted – another proof you aren’t worth God’s time.

But THIS is why we MUST put God’s word in front of us at all times – in our minds, in our hearts, on our lips, in front of our eyes. No matter how we feel, the TRUTH is: as children of God, we are SET FREE FROM THE POWER OF SIN.

A~ I need to repeat that line all day. I am set free from the power of sin. THAT is the truth! THAT is the reality for me to live in today. And when I make the next mistake, I step into grace and remember again, I am not bound by that sin, past present or future. I am bound by Christ – bound by grace. Bound by freedom. It was for freedom that Christ set us free. Galatians 5:1

P~ Lord, right now, I take a stand over my thoughts, over the enemy who taunts me with reminders of my faults: here is the TRUTH: I AM SET FREE FROM THE POWER OF SIN. Thank You, Jesus, for setting me free! I choose to live in that today!

No Longer a Slave to Sin | Joni Tyner

S~ Don’t you realize that you become the slave of whatever you choose to obey?  You can be a slave to sin, which leads to death, or you can choose to obey God, which lead to righteous living.  Romans 6:16  (NLT)

O~ Romans was written by Paul.  It was a letter to encourage righteous living among the new Jewish believers in Rome.

A~ I’ve been consistently reading the Bible and doing the SOAP journaling tool to grow in my faith for about 2 and ½ years.   Before reading the Divine Mentor, I was a believer but had minimal knowledge about the Bible.  I primarily went to church on Sunday and occasionally listened to Christian radio. As I started reading the Bible for myself, I began to hear the voice of the Holy Spirit and felt an increasing desire to make the choice to obey Him in areas that I previously I didn’t consider big deals. Here are two examples that I was recently experienced.

The first situation involved a small medication mistake I made at work.  (I’m a nurse)   I didn’t read the computer screen close enough and gave a patient an entire anti-nausea pill instead of breaking it in half—which was what was ordered.  It was an appropriate, safe dose to give the entire pill, (and the usual prescribed dose on our unit) but for whatever reason, the ordering doctor had ordered to give only ½ the pill.  I didn’t realize the mistake until after I had did it and I decided that it was a stupid order and I just wouldn’t tell anyone that I did it.  …but God knew and the Holy Spirit continually brought this to my mind that I wasn’t being honest to my boss.  For about 3 weeks, I attempted to suppress this situation, but every single time I read the Bible, I was convicted that I had been dishonest about hiding my mistake.  I  couldn’t stand myself knowing that I was being dishonest and so I filled out the incident report and went into my boss’s office and told her I had made the mistake and had intentionally hid it from her for fear of what she would think. I told her it was important for me to be a person of integrity and confess what I did.  She sort of rolled her eyes at the minor mistake and then told me it meant a lot to her that I had been honest about it.   After my palm-sweaty confession, I felt so much better and I, once again, felt close to God.  I made the choice to not be a slave to sin.

The other situation happened last week.  I signed up for Audible Books on my phone and got 2 free books to listen to.  The first book I picked was Fervent by Priscilla Shirer—I had heard a couple of people telling me how helpful it was in their prayer life.  I then decided to pick a secular romantic comedy by an author I loved before I had started reading the Bible.  I told myself that  “I deserved a little personal entertainment” and that I would just ignore the profanity and the sexually exploit parts.

I chose to listen to Fervent first.  The book goes through 10 different areas of our life that the Enemy (Satan) uses to make our prayers ineffective and our faith life shallow and empty.   This book was so awesome and I was so encouraged and inspired to live out many of these principles.  The Holy Spirit used Priscilla’s teaching to convict me that everything I put into my mind is a big deal!!! I can choose to listen to books that strengthen my Christian walk or I can allow myself to be influenced by thoughts that glorify sin.  I have a choice about what I feed my brain!  I decided that I wanted to use every opportunity I have to grow my faith so I returned the secular book and chose a Christian novel for my “entertainment” listening pleasure instead of listening to the secular romantic book.

Here is a link to Priscilla’s book, Fervent.  You will be so blessed by listening  (or reading) this book.  An added bonus I particularly loved was that she reads it herself.  I really felt like we were friends and she was cheering me on to do the right thing.  Again, check out her book at your Christian book store or get the download audible HERE

P~ Dear Lord, this morning I ask that You infuse my mind with thoughts on things that are true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable and excellent.   I desire to be a believer that has the highest integrity and chooses You over the things of this world. Help me to clearly see my Enemy and use the tools You have given me to be victorious.

I’m free from the power of sin! | Nikki Metzger

S~ But now you are free from the power of sin and have become slaves of God.  Now you do those things that lead to holiness and result in eternal life. Romans 6:22 (NLT)

O~ Sin’s power is broken in Jesus.  There is always a battle between flesh and spirit though on this side of heaven.

A~ I sinned against my husband and family.  As I was sinning, I knew it was wrong, but there was this pull or force to just keep sinning – I felt like I had no power over it.  I’ve since repented to God and confessed my sin.

The truth is that I’m free from the pull or force of sin.  I didn’t have to just follow that pull to sin.  But I did have to choose what I was going to obey.  Vs. 16 says that I become the slave to whatever I CHOOSE to obey.  I always have a choice: death or life.

I think the time leading up to my sin – I wasn’t doing those things that lead to holiness – really allowing God to speak to my heart, isolating myself from friends, and not sitting with my Savior.

P~ Father, thank You for making me free from the power of sin!  Some sin I just sit in and soak; God, I want to be free from that power.  Well, I know I’m free, but I want to feel free, I want to live free from the power of sin!  Power me to do those things that lead to holiness.  Thank You! I love You and pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

