May 24 1 Kings 9; 2 Chronicles 8; Psalms 136; Romans 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Blame or Accountability? | Kim Chipman

S~ This temple will become a heap of rubble. All who pass by will be appalled and will scoff and say, ‘Why has the Lord done such a thing to this land and to this temple?’ People will answer, ‘Because they have forsaken the Lord their God, who brought their ancestors out of Egypt, and have embraced other gods, worshiping and serving them—that is why the Lord brought all this disaster on them.’ 1 Kings 9:8-9 (NIV)

O~ It’s easy to blame all sorts of things when life gets hard…when relationships are tense…when stuff bumps into my happy. I like comfortable, easy, peaceful. You desire integrity, character and obedience. Sometimes that means HARD. The only way to get stronger is through adversity,not through comfort. My faith is tested, strengthened.

The thing is, I think it’s human nature to want to blame someone or something when stuff is unfair or hard. Like something that isn’t ME.

Here God lays out the deal pretty clearly – walk before me faithfully with integrity and obey me and I will remain. Turn away, disobey, serve and worship other things and there will be consequences.

The thing is, I believe that ALL of it happens – the good, the bad and the ugly – so that You can be seen and known. Your holiness, Your character, is apparent in the face of my broken humanity. Your power, Your sovereignty, Your forgiveness, Your mercy, Your grace. In and through even my ugliest failures You are on display. By blaming other things – circumstances, people, blah, blah, blah – I don’t think Your glory is revealed through that.

2 Cor 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

God reminds me here that there will be consequences for turning away. The Israelites had to answer that the disaster was because they had forsaken God and served other things. Sometimes I AM to blame, probably most of the time, and if I embrace that weak place Your power will rest on me.

A~ You can work through my humble weakness. Your power is made perfect there. I think the person I lie to the very most is myself. I can blame all kinds of things for my bad behavior. What if I got real with myself that sometimes I forsake God and that ‘s why stuff is a mess? Blaming does not make Your power perfect – weakness does. Admitting TO MYSELF that I am weak and needy and I can tap into Your power in that place…rather than blaming someone or something else. Own it.

I’m reminded of a short talk I watched by Brene Brown about BLAME

“Blame is simply the discharging of discomfort and pain. It has an inverse relationship with accountability. Accountability, by definition, is a vulnerable process.”

I can be vulnerable with You, Jesus. you are always safe. You always have my best interest at heart. In order to grow and access Your perfect power I need to be accountable.

P~ WOW lots of layers today. I thank You for Your Word, Your truth. Help me to live humbly and take accountability for my junk so I can access Your perfect power and grow in You. I’m really sorry that I’m not very good at this, but I’m trying. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 24, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

