May 22 1 Kings 8; 2 Chronicles 5; Psalms 99; Romans 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

One Holy God | Vicki Burns

S~ The Lord reigns, let the nations tremble; he sits enthroned between the cherubim, let the earth shake. Psalm 99:1 (NIV)

O~ Our God is running things. He’s in charge and the whole world should sit up and take notice of Him.

A~ After reading over all the Scriptures concerning the building of the temple in Jerusalem, day after day, it has slowly dawned on me just how bold of an impact it had on people, and still does. No king or nation has ever put on such a display of glory, order and spender as what God did through Solomon. And Solomon rightly gave God the praise for what He accomplished. What a powerful presence such a spectacle would’ve been in the earth then, and still would be today! God said to set things in such a way so the whole world would know that Israel’s God is God and merciful to all who honor Him as Lord. I have even found myself more prone to worship in awe that the God of heaven used the building of the temple and the specifics of temple worship to draw people to Himself. To say it was a commanding presence in the earth vastly understates the power it held…and still holds to this day, and I’m not only talking about Jews here.

I’m sharing from personal experience, during my first visit of three, to Israel. Our guide was not the patient sort as we were all but running through the old city. I was stressed because I was afraid I’d lose sight of him whilst my mother and her friend lagged way behind. All of a sudden I stopped dead in my tracks. I had run into an overwhelming sense of God’s presence. I yielded where I stood, searched for anything that might strike me like that, and began to weep openly…with people rushing around me. I took note of my location and sped after our guide. He was irritated as I insisted he back-track to the fateful spot. I asked frantically, “What is around here? I was hit with the power of something powerful here.” He pointed here and there naming sites but he noted I was not impressed. Finally he said, “Well, right down there is the wailing wall.”!!! (It is a portion of wall from the original temple revered by Jews and Gentiles alike.) Needless to say, we took an extended detour that day.

So, I am blessed to have a personal taste of that power…His presence emanating from a physical location. Theologically, I never pondered what I think about that, but this time, I let my spiritual experience preside over my head surmising.

Our God is awesome in power and He set His presence in a particular place in Jerusalem. May the nations tremble and the earth shake.

In our day and age it is easy to forget that God is sovereign over all the earth…that God is holy. Reverence and awe fill me as I steep in these verses. And here, as there, I am led to worship.

P~ You are glorious in Your holiness Ruler of the Heavens and Maker of the Earth! May my heart never cease to tremble at Your Word. Teach me proper reverence for Your holiness.

Order and Peace | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ For God is not a God of disorder but of peace, as in all the meetings of God’s holy people.  1 Corinthians 14:33 (NLT online)

O & A~  My verse today was not in the reading but it was just what I needed.  I sat down to read and my thoughts were already pulling me in two directions and I thought God is a God of order.  As I’m sitting there my thoughts go to a situation in one of my children’s lives that I thought was on its way to getting better but only to realize it is not.  I am hearing from the one of the halves that things are not better.  My response in the past has been to jump right in and take panic driven action.  But then I remember to pray (YAY!) and I ask God for wisdom and I text this one half and let them know I am praying about it and this peace comes over me.  I trust God will give my husband and I wisdom in how to guide this precious next generation family of ours and he will also give them wisdom.

P~ Thank you God for order.  Help us to desire order, to ask you for wisdom and to follow through.  Thank you for your love.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

