May 21 1 Kings 7; 2 Chronicles 4; Psalms 98; Romans 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A new song for my friend | Nikki Metzger

S~ Sing a new song to the Lord, for He has done wonderful deeds.  His right hand has won a mighty victory: His holy arm has shown His saving power! Psalm 98:1 (NLT)

O/A~ Just praying for my friend who is in between a rock and a hard place.  I want her to sing a BRAND NEW song to the Lord, because she is out of that spot in her life and the Lord has done something wonderful.  I want the Lord to show up and fight for my friend.  I want the Lord to win and His holy arm to show His power.  I want my friend to be in a new place with a new song in her heart to proclaim His victory over this painful part of her life.

P~ Father, thank You for my friend!!  Please fight for her!  It’s different this time.  Give her a new song to sing because of Your victory!  Show Your saving power to her quickly!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Sin is Sin | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Don’t you realize how kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you?  Or don’t you care?  Can’t you see how kind he has been in giving you time to turn from your sin? Romans 2:4 (NLT)

O~ God’s patience with me when I sin is not and “okay” from him of my sin.  He is waiting for me to turn from my sin.

A~ I need to confess and repent from any sin God reveals to me and not think he overlooks what seems like “little things” to me.

P~ Dear Father, if you say it is sin, then it is sin, not “little things” that maybe you are overlooking….Please forgive me. Help me to recognize sin as sin in my life and turn from it.  Thank you for loving me and being patient with me.

Love Over Criticism | Vicki Burns

S~ All who sin apart from the law will also perish apart from the law, and all who sin under the law will be judged by the law. :13 For it is not those who hear the law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous. Romans 2:12-13 (NIV)

O~ People with a critical spirit will be condemned because they do the same things (v1). They show contempt for the riches of His kindness (v4). Contrawise, “To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life.” (v7) because He is kind, tolerant and patient (v4).

A~ I can make it my mission to stay away from judging others…mainly because of the depth and breadth of my own sin. (v1) Also in criticizing others, my judgment is not based on truth but on what I see, which is always subjective. Only God’s judgment is true. (v2) My judgment divides and more importantly, shows contempt for the riches of His kindness that leads toward repentance. (v4) So, instead of judgment, I must choose love. It may be that my kindness will draw someone to repentance. How cool would that be?! We’re back to love as the Law…the command…why all the Law is wrapped up in it. Gal. 5:14 It accomplishes all His good will. This is the Law we are to obey always and at all times. To seek to do good persistently brings abundant life now and the wondrous reward of eternal life to come!

P~ You are a glorious God! Show Your glory in me, adding the power of Your Holy Spirit to my struggling effort and Your grace through Christ Jesus my living, loving Lord, to choose love…from my heart…fervently. For Your name’s sake!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 21, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

