May 20 1 Kings 6; 2 Chronicles 3; Psalms 97; Romans 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Keep Praising You | Michelle Myers

S~ Let those who love the LORD hate evil, for he guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.  Light is shed upon the righteous and joy on the upright in heart. Rejoice in the LORD, you who are righteous and praise his holy name. Psalm 97:10-12 (NIV)

O~ If I love You, I hate evil….period.  Sin is evil, and I am not sinless.  I hate my evil sin, just as much as I hate someone else’s.  I don’t need to protect myself from someone else’s evil. God will guard my life and delivery me.  I need to be in relationship with You, so You can make me aware of my own sin.  I need to repent of that sin.  I also need to be in relationship with You, so I can be aware of the ways in which You are guiding me, in guarding my life and delivering me from the hands of the wicked.  You shed light upon the righteous, I don’t need to shed light upon myself. You give me joy, it is not something I have to try and acquire through worldly means, which often brings out the sinful nature in my human self.  Because YOU guard me, deliver me, shed light upon me, give me joy, I need to give You the credit and rejoice in You.  I need to praise You.

A~ In the last week, I have had a few friends who have been hurt by some things posted on social media. I have watched on the news, where people have shed light on themselves.  They have done this by walking into a store, taping themselves, ranting their opinion and calling people names, and then posting the video.  Of course, it goes viral.  I watched a video where one woman, in front of her child, totally humiliates and degrades a man, in front of his child, for using food stamps at the store. She assumes that he is lazy, unwilling to get a job, etc.  He claims that he works 50-60 hours a week.  The video where they are cussing at one another while their children sit and watch, of course goes viral.

Behind all the drama, politics, policies, opinions, etc. there are people.  There are souls.  Souls that You created.  Souls that You love.  You may not love everything the do, but truth be told, You don’t love everything I do.  However, You still love me.

I don’t like everything that is going on in our society, but I don’t fear it.  You have shown my husband and I how to guard ourselves and our family from it.  You have shown us how You are going to deliver us from the wicked.  I don’t need to be evil and sinful toward another soul.  I don’t need to shed light upon myself by becoming self righteous on social media, waiting for it go viral.

I can have joy, regardless of what is going on around me; because my joy comes from You.  You guard me, deliver me, and shed light upon me.  When I take matters in my own hands, and try and do it myself; I am being sinful.

P~ Thank you God for Your protection.  Help me do my part in regards to social media.  I love keeping up with old friends and seeing cute cat videos, but it is also easy for me if I am not diligently connected to You, to get caught up in the drama, politics, and opinions of others.  Help me keep myself in check.  Help me remember that there are souls, that You value, out there watching. Thank you for providing my husband and I with an alternative, which protects our children, if certain things in our society go in a direction that crosses the boundaries You have put on our hearts as parents.  Help us remember, that is between You and us.  We don’t need to try and suck in other people to affirm us, our decisions, or our values.  We just need to keep praising You.

Choices | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Light shines on the godly, and joy on those who do right.  Psalms 97:11 (NLT)

O~ I have choices each day, to choose God’s way or what my flesh desires whether it be dwelling on hurts, worries or turning to God and asking for help and moving forward with what he shows me.

A~ I want to choose you always!  I want to experience joy.  I need your light to shine on my circumstances, on my life, in my head.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for how you call me and challenge me.  Help me to choose you and turn to you.

Long to See You | Kelley Deases

S~ I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong — that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith. Romans 1:11-12 (NIV)

O~  It is vital for believers to meet together, to call out gifts in one another, to bear one another’s burdens in prayer, to encourage one another to keep up the fight for our faith and our families, and help each other continue to stand firm upon the Truth in a culture which seems to be growing increasingly hostile to the things of God.

A~ I am a part of several groups of “sisters” with whom I meet on a consistent basis. Echoing Paul’s words, “I long to see [them]” and bask in the warmth of those friendships, search the Scripture together, and pray both together and privately for one another. It is vital to my ability to keep on keeping on. And I know these sisters in Christ feel the same way.

P~ Father, Bless us especially as we gather, as You have called us to gather, so we never try to go it alone. As You live in community as Father, Son and Holy Spirit, we are likewise crafted to thrive in community with one another. Thank You for the specific sisters you have given me; each one a unique blessing in my life.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

