May 19 1 Kings 4,5; 2 Chronicles 2; Psalms 101; 2 Thessalonians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Being Wise About Wisdom | Michelle Myers

S~ Men of all nations came to listen to Solomon’s wisdom, sent by all the kings of the world who had heard of his wisdom. 1 Kings 4:34 (NIV)

O~ Solomon’s views on situations were valued.

A~ Over the last couple of years, my husband has started to call me from work to run a situation by me, and get my opinion on it. Since I am not directly impacted by the situation, I can often have a different perspective of what is going on or what would be a wise way to respond.  My oldest daughter also has started to come to me with situations going on in her life.  It makes me feel good.  Most of my life, I didn’t feel I had a voice or anyone cared what I had to say.  However, they would want me to be around to pick up the pieces and the slack, when things went south.  It was very frustrating.

I have learned a few things in regards to the “wisdom” I have and the sharing it with other people.  First, I have to hear words that tell me someone is asking for my opinion.  There have been a few times that my husband has come home frustrated about a situation or with a person from the grocery store, in traffic, etc. I put my two cents in, and it frustrates him even more because all he wants to do is vent.  The same goes for my daughter, she doesn’t always want to hear my opinion or solutions to life’s dilemmas.  Sometimes she just wants me to listen.  So again, unless I hear her ask for my input, I need to keep my wisdom to myself.  Someone once told me that unsolicited advice is really criticism.  I have gotten that “criticism” before.  It doesn’t feel good.

Second, people don’t have to listen to my “wisdom” or act upon it.  Yet, I also don’t have to be responsible for picking up the pieces or slack, when things do go south.  A good example is when my daughter forgot her lunch as she was rushing out the door one day for school.  She didn’t want to hear or act upon my advice in regards to how to make things go smoother.  It had become a repeated problem. I had made extra trips before to take her, her lunch.  It would throw my day off.  It was time for her to suffer the consequences of her choices.

You have shown me that I need to be wise about how and when I use the wisdom You have given to me.  When people don’t want to hear it or act upon it, I need to be wise and humble myself enough to accept that.  I also need to be wise going forward in letting them live out both the positive and negative consequences of their choices.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR wisdom.  Please help me be wise with the different aspects of my life.  Help me slow down enough, so that I can stay connected to YOU and be in tune to YOUR wisdom.  On my own, I am not very wise!

What I Need | Tara Wiley

S~ But the Lord is faithful. He will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one. 2 Thessalonians 3:3 NLT

O~ What good news – You are faithful, and You are my guard. My defense. My shield. And today, I am so grateful – You are my Strength!

A~ On days like today, my strength feels like a shredded rope. The countdown is on – we are nearly to summer! But even that doesn’t feel like a coming relief right now, when some of the stressors will only intensify over summer break. Yet, I know my perception is not always truth (‘the heart is deceitful above all things!’). YOU are truth, and what You proclaim in this verse is the very provision I need.

P~ Lord, strength and shield me today. I need Your help! I am so tired and afraid of what the future might require of us. Remind me again that You are the light to my path and the lamp for my feet. I must simply walk forward in faith, into just the next step – and then You will make the next one after that clear. Thank You, Lord. Your Word and presence gives me strength and hope! I choose once again to discipline my mind, where the battle rages. Be my defense and shield against the lies of the enemy. Strengthen me to stand firm! These moments with You have given me renewed perspective for my day. Thank You, Lord.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

