May 18 1 Kings 3; 2 Chronicles 1; Psalms 78; 2 Thessalonians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Ask for Wisdom | Kelley Deases

S~ So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours? 1 Kings 3:9 (NIV)

O~ I remember teaching this passage to a Sunday school class of second-graders years ago. Here, the Lord offers to bless the young King Solomon with whatever he wants. Rather than ask for land or power or great wealth, Solomon asks for wisdom to govern well. God was so pleased by this request and the heart behind it, he gave Solomon not only the discernment he sought but all these other things besides.

A~ I was complaining to my husband last night that my youngest son and I don’t get along as well and as easily as I always have with my oldest, who is more like me. Actually, beyond complaining, I was pouting and rather resigned to feelings of “That’s just how it is and always will be.” (heavy sigh) Then I open my Bible this morning and read this. Lo and behold, if I want wisdom and discernment as I govern (/parent), I should ask God for it. Now there’s an idea!

P~ Father, As frustrated as I can get over going round and round with my child, feeling like if he would only listen and obey, how much easier our relationship would be. Then You gently hold up a mirror so I can see how I myself need to learn my lessons again and again. Simple and foundational lessons like trusting You, praying for guidance and wisdom, accessing the power You offer through Your Spirit to cultivate the fruits of love, joy, peace,patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control, etc. Continue, Lord, to train me up, even as I seek to train him up, in the way we BOTH should go.

Solomon’s request | Nikki Metzger

S~ Give me an understanding heart so that I can govern Your people well and know the difference between right and wrong.  For who by himself is able to govern this great people of Yours? 1 Kings 3:9 (NLT)

O~ God asked Solomon what he wanted and this was the new king’s request.

A~ This is how I feel about parenting!  I love this word: who by himself is able to govern Your children in our fast paced, technology driven, “me first” world?

P~ Father, You gave me Your two kids to love and govern for 18-20 years, and some others have tagged along too 🙂  Thank You for trusting me with them!  I feel like I don’t know have a clue anymore going into middle school.  Give me wisdom and an understanding heart so I can grow them up well!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

A Discerning Heart | Michelle Myers

S~ So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. 1 Kings 3:9 (NIV)

O~ When Solomon was young, he became king.  Instead of honor and wealth, He asked God to give him wisdom.  God was pleased with this, so He gave it all to him…..wisdom, honor, and wealth.

A~ My oldest daughter has not been herself in months.  It took us sometime to understand what was going on and that it was more than just the normal teenage challenges, moods, etc.  She was being bullied at school, and up until recently, I didn’t understand the extent to which it was occurring.

You have given me an understanding heart in this area.  I know what it is like to feel uncomfortable in an environment that just seems to suck the life out of a person.  I know what it is like to feel targeted, powerless, and never knowing from moment to moment what jabs are going to come at you.  This was my home life growing up, and it is through those experiences, You gave me an understanding of what my daughter was going through at school.

As an educator, I saw first hand how mean and destructive kids could be.  I saw how technology has made a bad situation even worse. This has given my husband and I the wisdom to be vigilant in our monitoring of technology and our boundaries in regards to what they can and can not have or do with technology.

Also, as an educator, You have given me wisdom in regards to some of the challenges a public educational institution has in protecting kids from other kids.  I have been able to see the limitations they have. I knew that they would not be able to really protect my daughter.  I am aware of the politics and lip service that goes on..

Most educators really do care about kids and want to do what is best for them, but they have to do what makes the environment flow for the masses.  That is the reality of it.  Consequently, the reality is the non-problem kids suffer and often fall through the cracks.

We were just trying to make it through the last 12 days of the school year.  My daughter came home again grumpy, exhausted, and had no life left in her.  After doing her homework, she would often just want to lay in bed.  After some prodding, I listened as my daughter told me how the kids were being toward her, and how she just sits there and takes it, so she doesn’t make it worse.  She too, was just trying to drudge through the next 12 days, looking for the light at the end of the tunnel, knowing she would be home schooled next year.

I was angry.  I was frustrated.  I felt helpless.  I didn’t want to wait 12 days to get my daughter back.  I heard You tell me that all of this has been wrong on so many different levels and not to send her back for the last 12 days.  I wasn’t helpless, as I had been when I was a child.  My husband and I decided we needed to protect her more than send her to school.

I called the school the next day, and I left a message for the vice principal.  I explained that I would be keeping my child home and would like to pick up her work for the rest of the year.  I would be willing to bring her in for her finals.  I explained why.  As I expected, he wasn’t for this. As I expected, he talked about not knowing Corinne was struggling with her peers.  As I expected, he wanted to meet.  We did, and you prepared me for that meeting.  You gave me wisdom in countering every argument he had.  You gave me strength to be firm, speak the truth, and say what needed to be said.  It wasn’t comfortable for me, but in the end, we got what we wanted and needed for our daughter.  As we left, I could see the weight that she has been carrying around for months leave her.  It was instantaneous.

In the few days that she has been home, she is back to her normal self.  She is still a teenager who needs to check herself from time to time, but has been joyful and active.  Prior to all of this, I was worried that if I home schooled her, she wouldn’t do her part.  Yet, after listening to how much of her part she was doing to avoid conflicts with other kids and still doing her work to keep her grades up; I no longer feared this.  And, since she has been home, she has done what school work she has been given more efficiently than I ever expected her to.

I have had a few people commend me for not sending her back, saying it was courageous and that I am a strong woman.  It isn’t me.  It is You.  You gave me the wisdom and ability.  You also have made me wealthy enough to be able to stay home and home school my child.  This isn’t wealth as the world knows it, but it is much more valuable.  I understand what a blessing it is, as I know of other kids who are enduring what my daughter was and their parents don’t have the means to take them out of school and protect them.  Neither I, nor my daughter is more deserving of it than them or their children.

P~ Thank you God for giving me experiences that have made me wiser.  Thank you God for blessing us with the means to help our daughter.  Thank you God for giving us the courage and strength to do what needed to be done.  Please continue to guide us as we continue this difficult, frustrating, and often thankless job known as parenting.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Michelle Myers

    Thank you! It really has made a huge difference in her spirit.

  2. Michelle, Praise God He gave you the wisdom and courage to make that decision. What a blessing to your daughter that you and your husband heard the cry of her heart. God bless you!

  3. Wow! Ditto to all the prayers for parental wisdom! Mine are grown and gone yet we need as powerful strength in our own character as well as wisdom in our dealings with them. May our Wonderful Counselor be our Guide!
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

