May 17 1 Kings 2; 1 Chronicles 29; Psalms 95; 2 Thessalonians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Great Tasks | Michelle Myers

S~ The task is great, because this palatial structure is not for man but for the LORD God. 1 Chronicles 29:1 (NIV)

O~ King David is talking to the whole assembly about his son, Solomon, being chosen to build the temple.  He says that Solomon is young and inexperienced, but this task is way more important than others, since it is for God.

A~ When I remember who my tasks are for (YOU) they seem way more important than the boring and daily routine of preparing a healthy dinner, folding another load of towels, or unloading the dishwasher for the third time in a day.

Staying connected to You, also helps me prioritize what You are telling me to do.  There are some things that You have told me are not my responsibility.  They are not in an area that You have gifted me in.  I should not take them on at all, or I should delegate them to some other member of my family.  Solomon didn’t build the entire temple on his own.

You knew what You were doing when You gave Solomon the job of building the temple.  Solomon may have been young and inexperienced, but You don’t set us up for failure.  If you give us something to do, You will give us the ability to do it.  You will fill in the gaps for our lack of experience, inadequacies, and inabilities.  That doesn’t mean it is going to be easy.  That doesn’t mean it will go smoothly.  That doesn’t mean it will be a glaring success after the first try.  In fact, it is pretty much a guarantee that it is going to be hard, rocky, and have bouts of failure. That is how you grow our strength, endurance, character, and faith.

P~ Thank you God for giving me opportunities to serve You, and for giving me the assurance that You will fill in my gaps.  It helps me do things that I never saw myself doing, and that helps me grow as a person and in my relationship with You.  It is often what gives me the confidence to step out do what You are telling me to do.  Please help me remember, that if it comes from You, I will not be alone in the task.

Unhardened Hearts | Kelley Deases

S~ Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song. …  Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did at Meribah, as you did that day at Messah in the desert.  Psalm 95:2,8 (NIV)

O~ When we are feeling overcome with emotion, whether that be joy or fear or gratitude or celebration, or maybe we can’t even name the feeling, the Psalms provide the perfect outlet for processing those emotions and trying to sort them out through the filter of God’s Word.

A~ Yesterday (Sunday) I attended a beautiful outdoor wedding at a wooded chapel area at a Christian campground outside of town. This young couple demonstrated such love for each other and eagerness to begin their life together, inviting God’s Spirit into their ceremony and into their marriage union. At one point, we took a break from watching the pastor and the couple proceed step by step toward becoming husband and wife, and we entered into a powerful time of worship and song. We all seemed to collectively invite the presence of God into ourselves, into that space, and into the union of this young man and young woman.

After the ceremony, with the Spirit still in our midst, I experienced another, more unexpected, blessing beyond witnessing the wedding. My husband and I previously experienced a major rift with another couple with whom we used to be close. For over a year, every encounter has been tense and, on both sides, we have avoided contact and conversation. But on this day, amongst mutual friends, brothers and sisters in Christ, we all talked and laughed easily in a way we have been unable to do for a long time.

I feel as though God blessed me doubly yesterday; I got to witness the union of two souls and also a healing “re-union” of sorts. Only God could have brought either of those things to pass.

P~ Father, Thank You for Your lavish love which exceeds what we can ever ask or imagine. You surprised me yesterday just how much You desire to shower us with Your goodness and restore broken relationships.

Be enabled and have His power | Nikki Metzger

S~ So we keep on praying for you, asking our God to enable you to live a life worthy of His call.  May He give you the power to accomplish all the good things your faith prompts you to do. 2 Thessalonians 1:11 (NLT)

O/A~ I really believe that I can do NOTHING on my own.  The Lord has to enable me and give me the power to do those things He has called me to do: get my Temple healthy, exercise, be a present mom, and love my husband.

These things I cannot do unless He gives me the power.

P~ Father, I give up my will for Yours!  Enable me to live a life worthy of Your call and give me the power to accomplish all the good things You’ve prompted me to do!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

