May 16 1 Kings 1; 1 Chronicles 28; Psalms 91; 1 Thessalonians 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Take Action | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then Nathan the prophet went to Bathsheba, Solomon’s mother, and asked her, “Did you realize Haggith’s son, Adonijah, has made himself king and that our lord David doesn’t even know about it?  If you want to save your own life and the life of your son Solomon, follow my counsel.  Go at once to King David and say to him, ‘My lord, didn’t you promise me that my son Solomon would be the next king and would sit upon your throne? Then why has Adonijah become king?’  And while you are still talking with him, I will come and confirm everything you have said.” 1 Kings 1:11-14 (NLT)

O~ Notes in my bible:

When Nathan learned of Adonijah’s conspiracy, he immediately tried to stop it.  He was a man of both faith and action.  He knew that Solomon should rightly be king, and he moved quickly when he saw someone else trying to take the throne.  We often know what is right but don’t act on it.  Perhaps we don’t want to get involved or maybe we are fearful or lazy.  Don’t stop with prayer, good intentions or angry feelings.  Take the action needed to correct the situation.

In this case, the action that Nathan took was to have Bathsheba talk to King David and he also talked to King David.  I am realizing that I am a good spectator in life but that is not what I’m here for.  God has been showing me to partake and not just watch.

A~ I need to partake in life, to pray about issues that I see and take the action God leads me to take.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for walking through life with me.  Thank you for prayer that makes you available anytime, all the time.  Please give me the courage to take action and wisdom as to what action to take.

Chosen to be Loved | Joni Tyner

S~ For God chose to save us through our Lord Jesus Christ, not to pour out his anger on us.  1 Thessalonians 5:9  (NLT)

O~ Paul is reminding us the God CHOSE US because He wanted to.  He did this because HE LOVES US  and WANTS US to be His children.

A~ God Is for each of us. He just is.  God isn’t trying to make us miserable or punish us or ruin our good time.  He sacrificially saved us through the death of His only Son- Jesus.  When tough circumstances happen and I wonder why, I did to always remember.

God is for me, not against me.

He isn’t losing His temper and being mad at me.  I need to realize that I have a limited perspective of the situation and trust His perfect character when I don’t understand the reasons for a situation.  I feel like I will stop the snowball effect of self-pity if I can always remember this when something happens that I don’t like.  God chose me because He LOVES ME!!

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you for loving and choosing me.  I’m so sorry I have often doubted Your love and though that You were mad at me and that You had lost interest in me.  Please remind me of this scripture when I’m tempted to think that You don’t care about me or that You are mad at me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

