May 15 1 Chronicles 25,26,27; 1 Thessalonians 4

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

All For You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Today’s reading in 1 Chronicles 25-27 (NLT)

O~ This reading tells me of all the jobs everyone had in the kingdom of David.  Everyone had a part to play a purpose, a job to do.

A~ I look at my life and it used to bother me to see that I have not really “made anything of myself.”  That thought only caused shame and pain.  I got married at a very early age and soon after became a mom, then again, again and again. Meanwhile I was still trying to “discover my purpose.”  It has taken me years to realize that whatever stage I am in life, my purpose is to stay connected to my Jesus so I can live and love like him right where I am.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for all that you have given me through your Son, my Savior, Jesus Christ.  Please help me stay connected.  All for you, with your help and for your glory.

Living This Life: Persistence | Tara Wiley

S~… we instructed you how to live in order to please God, as in fact you are living. Now we ask you and urge you in the Lord Jesus to do this more and more. I Thessalonians 4:1 NIV

O/A~ In the Amplified version, that last phrase states, “do so even more and more abundantly [attaining yet greater perfection in living this life.]” When I get weary, or wonder what next? I can return to this admonishment and remember, when I persist in following God more closely in the details of living this life, I can better experience what He intended this life to be for me. It’s worth it to keep pressing in, not to allow yesterday’s (or the last five minute’s) defeats to keep me in a locked place, but to pursue Christ more and more abundantly today. He is leading me into freedom. I need to pursue and follow His leadership, without giving up.

P~ Lord, give me persistence today. Help me to press into You, free from yesterday’s failures which are covered by Your grace, empowered by Your Spirit to accomplish what You have set before me today, strengthened with Your power. Lord, when I am feeling overwhelmed, I tend to get stagnant, and then I just beat myself up. This isn’t the life You have for me. You call me into abundant pursuit of You, into greater and greater understanding and experience of Your perfection. So, remind me of Your perspective today. Remind me that I don’t have to be who I was yesterday. I am not my failures. I am Your redeemed and chosen one. I will live in the freedom that gives me to pursue You more fully today! Show me YOUR to-do list for this day, which I know flies in the face of the world’s ideas. Show me abundant living in the quiet spaces that come when I prioritize according to Your perspective. Fill me with persistence there, Lord. In Your way. In Your will.

SLOW DOWN! | Kim Chipman

S~ and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, 1 Thessalonians 4:11 (NIV)

O~ Yesterday in Bible study we were talking about the frantic pace of our lives. May feels like the new December with an overwhelming number of appointments, graduation parties, end of the year celebrations, etc.

We looked at Jeremiah 29 and this is what the Lord told those exiled to Babylon (v 5-7)  “Build houses and settle down; plant gardens and eat what they produce. Marry and have sons and daughters; find wives for your sons and give your daughters in marriage, so that they too may have sons and daughters. Increase in number there; do not decrease. Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper.”

Both the verses in 1 Thess and in Jeremiah speak towards leading a simple, quiet life. Often I feel like our culture frowns on that. We need to do more, be more, excel, be the best, achieve…more, more, more! These verses encourage opposite priorities. Build houses, settle down, plant gardens, marry and have families, seek peace and prosperity of your CITY (communal prosperity, not individual), lead a quiet life and work with your hands.

Incidentally, in Jeremiah they were to do this for SEVENTY YEARS before they would be released from exile. Seventy. Years.

A~ I know for certain that You do not want me to become an isolated home body hermit. You created me for community and I know that a piece of the plans You have for me involve small groups which lead women to Your Word and into relationship with one another. I also know You have called me to mother 4 amazing kids and cultivate their gifts and talents.

But I know there is a part of me that needs the quiet. Simple. Plant a garden. Work with my hands. Slow. Down. Be still and know. I’m not great at balance. I need some guilt free white space on my calendar to simplify. Reconnect with You. Say no to some things. Guard my heart and time. Take control of my schedule.

P~ Lord, help me! I want my life to be led by You for Your glory! Help me to know what stays and what goes – what is Yours and what is mine on my calendar. My desire is to spend my life and my time on the assignments YOU choose for me. Thank You for the reminder that simple is ok. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

