May 14 1 Chronicles 22,23,24; 1 Thessalonians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

No such thing as retirement | Nikki Metzger

S~ So David collected vast amounts of building materials before his death. 1 Chronicles 22:5b (NLT)

O~ David couldn’t build the Temple.  God was going to have Solomon build it.  But David collected materials for it.

A~ David is always on God’s mission, his whole life.  Even in his old age, after the army wouldn’t let him go out in battle, God assigned him the task of gathering building materials for the Temple.

If I’m breathing, I’m on God’s mission to grow His Kingdom however He sees fit!  There is no such thing as retirement!

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word!  May you always fill my heart and mind with Your purpose.  I never want to feel like I’ve reached a stopping point in You!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Faith Fight | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ That is why, when I could bear it no longer, I sent Timothy to find out whether your faith was still strong.  I was afraid that the Tempter had gotten the best of you and that all our work had been useless.  1 Thessalonians 3:5 (NLT)

O~  Satan is there and wants to squash my faith, but I am a child of the living God because of what my savior, Jesus did for me.

A~  Satan needs to go away!

P~  Dear Jesus, thank you for saving me, help me remain faithful.

Someone Is Watching Me | Joni Tyner

S~ So we have been greatly encouraged in the midst of our troubles and suffering, dear brothers and sisters; because you have remained strong in your faith.  It gives us new life to know you are standing firm in the Lord.”  1 Thessalonians 3:7-8 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the new Christian believers in Thessalonica that had been experiencing persecution. He was letting them know he was encouraged by their strong faith.

A~ It’s easy to get self-absorbed about my own life.  There are days I feel blessed and close to God and all is well.  There are other days that I feel discouraged, forgotten and think there is a dark cloud of problems parked over our family.  I  frequently find myself venting or complaining to random people about the current adversity.  This verse reminds me that I am being watched!!! I need to be careful about who I share my negative thoughts with because non-believers may misinterpret what I am saying.  I certainly don’t live out my faith perfectly, but at the end of the day, (and then whining and complaining) I want to be strong and firm in the Lord.  I have a responsibility to encourage others, both in words and through my own life experiences , to stand embrace their faith and be strong.

P~ Dear Lord, please help me to embrace this life assignment You’ve given me with strength. I don’t want my occasional discouragement to weaken someone else’s faith.  Please shut my tongue when I want to complain about some life difficulty to a person who doesn’t know you.  Lord, I need You for everything in my life!!!  I want to be a STRONG warrior for You,  please infuse me with courage and endurance for this life journey.  Give me passion to continue my faith pursuit.

Pray Love Increases and Overflows | Vicki Burns

S~ May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and everyone else, just as ours does for you.  I Thes. 3:12 (NIV)

O~ The power of love is incredible. It encourages others by what it does by boldly proclaiming good inner thoughts and warm affection for others and it shamelessly and courageously expresses inner longings for fellowship with them (vs. 6). The result of holy love on the Apostle Paul was so encouraging that he went to the extreme of saying, “now we really live!” (vs. 8) He couldn’t thank God enough for the joy they brought him! (vs.9) And this was while Paul was experiencing “distress and persecution!” (vs. 7)

A~ How calming to hear words like “we always have pleasant memories of you” and “we long “ to be with you. These are heart words that build up over times of prayer and concern for others. Matthew 12:34b says, the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.My thoughts; prayers; what I’m reading; watching on TV and listen to all get packed away in my heart until it’s full. Then it will all come spewing out. I should daily remember to ask myself, “Am I blessing and praying for others or complaining and criticizing in my heart instead?”

P~ Lord, I should be the safest person around to share life with. I am myself, only a sinner saved by grace. Make my love increase and overflow for others. Teach me to train my thoughts to pack themselves into prayers and intercession. Teach my heart encouraging words of life to instill hope and joy unto praise and thanksgiving to You. For You are love.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

