May 13 2 Samuel 24; 1 Chronicles 21; Psalms 30; 1 Thessalonians 2

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Sacrificial Love | Kim Chipman

S~ But the king replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying you for it. I will not sacrifice to the Lord my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing.” So David bought the threshing floor and the oxen and paid fifty shekels of silver for them. 2 Samuel 24:24 (NIV)

O~ The Lord was angry with Israel (v1) and I can’t see evidence of why, but David seems to feel he did a foolish thing and is repentant. He is building an altar to sacrifice on and God directed him to build it on the threshing floor of Araunah. Araunah offered to give it to David, but he insisted on paying for it. He did not want to sacrifice to the Lord offerings that cost him nothing.

A~ I feel loved when someone does something for me that inconveniences them a bit. It does not feel like love to me when my people only do things when it works for them and isn’t too much bother or effort. I mean it’s nice, but it doesn’t really feel like love. When it makes them look good and it really isn’t about me at all that doesn’t do it either. It doesn’t feel like love to me.

This verse makes me reconsider how I apply this to my relationship with the Lord. Do I only serve You when it’s convenient for me, Lord, or do I genuinely sacrifice? David would not offer to You unless it cost him something. Do I take this approach? I know I feel loved when another person sacrifices on my behalf. I’m confident You feel love this way, too.

P~ Lord, help me to examine my heart and motives. Help me to move away from comfortable offerings to genuine sacrifice. I love You!

Growth in what costs me | Nikki Metzger

S~ But King David replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on buying it for the full price.  I will not take what is yours and give it to the Lord.  I will not present burnt offerings that have cost me nothing!” 1 Chronicles 21:24 (NLT)

O~ The Lord has stopped a plague at the threshing floor of Araunah.  David wants to build an altar, but insists on buying it, even though Araunah wanted to give it to him.

A~ I’ve just been thinking about some things I’ve prayed for: take away my temptation of food, take away my desire for the easy way out, grow my kid’s hearts to You, change this person.

If God answered those prayers, it would have cost me nothing.  Maybe sometimes there is a cost to the things God has in store for me?  The cost of having to prepare healthy food, the cost of giving up some tv time to exercise, the cost of using my day off to serve my family instead of me, the cost of having hard conversations with my kids, the cost of having to be super involved in the kids’ lives so I know what what’s happening day to day, or the cost of loving someone and forgiving them even when they hurt me.

David understood this when he insisted on buying the threshing floor.

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word!!  Help me to really see that when something costs me for Your Kingdom, it’s so good and the very best plan, and though my flesh fights it, it’s good for my soul.  Thank You!

Love Comes First | Joni Tyner

S~ We loved you so much that we shared with you not only God’s Good News but our own lives too. 1 Thessalonians 2:8 (NLT)

O~ Paul is urging believers to use discernment with their methods of witnessing and sharing God’s Good News.  Earlier in verse 4, he reminds us to please God and not people. (absolutely YES!!) He reminds the  believers to not use flattery and to always examine the motives of the heart.  (verse 5)

A~ I believe this section of 1 Thessalonians would radically change the atmosphere in our culture is we ( Christians) would embrace this style of winning  people to the Lord.   I’m breaking it down, super simple…

Paul is reminding them how much he loves them.

He didn’t just speak truth by explaining the way to salvation, he shared his life with them.

I occasionally get on social media to see updates on my friends, get encouragement, or a quick chuckle before I go to bed.  Along with positive encouragement, I will often see posts that reference a current news issue.  Often times, there is a Bible verse attached to it and a “Christian rant” about the sin that is being observed.   I’m obviously NOT speaking about every single post that uses the Bible as a reference, but many times I see scripture  used to justify their opinion and judgement of someone else.  Yes, there may sin involved that is contrary to God’s Word, but has the person who posted this first reached out in love to the person being judged? Have they first shared their lives with them before giving them the Good News (scripture)?

I’ve occasionally heard other believers say, that we are watering down the Bible by using the “love commandment” too much and we can’t worry about people’s opinion.   I disagree.  I believe, throughout the Bible, God is commanding us to first LOVE others and to build relationships with people so that they made see His work in our lives.  He is the judge, NOT US!!! I am convinced God wants me to sincerely care for others—this is my motivation—that through loving actions, people will be saved. God will use the Holy Spirit to convict people of their sin and transform their lives—on His time table.  There is a time and place for everything, including sharing scripture and often times, that opportunity comes after a relationship of trust has been formed.

P~ Dear Lord, Everything from You is love. There is no shame or condemnation.  I pray this morning that any reader who has been hurt, disappointed or judged by words of a believer would see that IS NOT FROM YOU!!!!  May I boldly ask for forgiveness from those who have been hurt and disillusioned by either my words or another person’s words.  I pray for each person who has been offended, that they would see YOU love them and that Your people are flawed and imperfect.  I also pray that each believer would embrace the truth of 1 Thessalonians and consider if they are first loving those they judge.   Lord, please convict my heart to embrace this truth.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

