May 12 2 Samuel 21,22,23; 1 Thessalonians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Come to the Rescue | Tara Wiley

S~ Once again the Philistines were at war with Israel. And when David and his men were in the thick of battle, David became weak and exhausted…Abishai son of Zeruiah came to David’s rescue and killed the Philistine. 2 Samuel 21:15,17 NLT

O~ David was a mighty warrior, known for his prowess in battle. Yet, in this circumstance, he was struggling greatly. He needed help – and Abishai came to his rescue.

A~ I’m feeling weary right now. My mind is muddled with various griefs, and I’m tired and so very ready for summer break – but I have a lot to juggle in the weeks before our anniversary trip in June: a birthday party for my daughter (this always stresses me out to no end), a couple of recitals for my music students, end of year testing for my homeschooled son, our Nebraska house sale (Lord, please let it sell quickly!), trip preparations, and more. It feels like too much, on top of the normal day to day, on top of the sadness I’m feeling. Thankfully, a friend has come to my rescue in helping with the birthday party. I need to be open to receiving this kind of help in this season.

P~ Lord, thank You for my friend’s help with this upcoming birthday party. I pray that the weather holds for a good zoo day for Kate and her friends, that we have a good turnout and she feels well celebrated – and that I can rest in the fact that it doesn’t all have to be perfect. Lord, thank You for the reminder that even Your mightiest warrior was weak and exhausted at times. I’m feeling weak, and I hate the way my brain doesn’t want to function right now. Please strengthen me, and help me to think clearly when I need to, to remember the most important details. Thank You for friends who come to my rescue when I need them. Thank YOU for coming to my rescue. You are my light and strength. Help me rest in You.

Finding the Light Switch | Joni Tyner

S~ O Lord, you are my lamp.

The LORD lights up my darkness.

In Your strength I can crush an army;

With my God, I can scale any wall.   2 Samuel 22:29 (NLT)

O~ David is singing a song of praise after he and his army successfully battled the Philistines.  He was discouraged and the Lord rescued him from his enemies.

A~ I think every human is subject to going through dark, discouraging seasons in our life.  It looks different to different people. It may be an illness, a debilitating injury, financial difficulties, broken relationships, __________.

Dark seasons suck, they just do.

So, what is our response to difficult circumstances? Do we allow God into this season and submit in our brokenness? Do we allow Him to change us or do we become angry, bitter and hardened?  Do we cling to our being right instead of embracing forgiveness and reconciliation?

This passage is showing us that we have to “turn on the lamp” so He can illuminate our way. He can crush the enemy (whatever that is) but we need to seek Him and allow His light to work.  Think about it, when you enter a dark room, you will keep bumping into obstacles and cause yourself pain, again and again. But… if you take time to find the light source, you will have clarity in where to walk and have less fear of the unknown. The unknown territory is much less scary when there is someone with us and we can see where we are going.  The Light Source directs our path.

P~ Dear Lord, this morning my prayer is for someone reading this who is in pain life situation.  I don’t know their name, but You do!! You know every question they’ve voiced to You and every doubt that plagues their day. You see their tears, their anger, their hopelessness.  I pray that Your Holy Spirit pursues them relentlessly.  They are reading this blog to seek You and I pray that they feel Your presence in.this.moment.  Hold them through their tough situation.  I pray You bring other believers into their life that can speak hope and encouragement and help them seek You.  I know sometimes when life crushes us we are too tired and sad to seek You so I pray that people will come into their life that can help them carry the burden.  Help them be humble enough to receive other people’s friendship and help.  Lead them to scripture that sooth’s their pain.  I pray for courage to reach out for help in their darkness.

***please know will have a prayer team available to pray through your life’s difficulties.  We would like to reach out and pray for those needing prayer. Our God is powerful and will hold our hand as we scale the wall of adversity.  With love–Joni

You Are my Light | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ O Lord you are my light;

Yes, Lord, you light up my darkness.

In your strength I can crush an army,

With my God I can scale any wall.  2 Samuel 22:29,30  (NLT)

O~ Jesus is light in my darkness, helping me to see truth in the midst of confusion.  In his strength I can do what seems undoable to me.

A~ I have been struggling with some anxieties from thought patterns that have been there for a long time.  As I face them with Jesus, I can see that is what he is, my light.  I see that he lights up the darkness in my thoughts as I call out to him.  (Thank you Jesus!)

The second part of the verse has to do with this same thought—for I have been afraid of my own thoughts sometimes but I feel as I face them with God—he is making me stronger and I am able to face these fears that seemed too big a task for me.

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you.  Thank you for lighting up the darkness in my head for helping me face my fears that those thoughts created.  Please continue to help me fight this battle of my mind.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

