May 11 2 Samuel 19,20; Psalms 55; Matthew 28

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Thoughts | Kim Chipman

S~ Listen to my prayer, O God, do not ignore my plea; hear me and answer me. My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught Psalm 55:1-2 (NIV)

O~ Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

2 Corinthians 10:4-5 The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

A~ My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught…often this is me. My mind never stops thinking. I mist, however, capture those thoughts an make them obedient to You. Choose thoughts…capture them…I CAN CHOOSE WHAT IS IN THERE! My weapons have divine power…DIVINE POWER. Oh yes!!

P~ Thank you for making a way to live in victory! I love You!

New Meaning to a Timeless Command | Kelley Deases

S~ “Therefore go and make disciples … teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” Matthew 28:19-20 [excerpted]

O~ The Great Commission. After His resurrection, Jesus speaks these words to His disciples, charging them — and us — to go out and tell others about Jesus and what He has done, thereby making new Christ-followers, teaching and training them in what we ourselves have come to know.

A~ Until recently, I must confess this passage made me squirm a bit in my seat. I am married to a man who has the gift of evangelism, and it’s nothing for him to strike up a conversation with the bank teller, gas station attendant, or our kid’s new soccer coach and share his faith in Jesus Christ, maybe even punctuating the conversation by handing the person a tract. While I know these people all need to hear and know of the love of Christ, just describing this scene kinda makes me want to jump out of my skin!

But here are a few things I have come to appreciate as I mature in my own faith walk: First, we are all uniquely designed by God and He can use us uniquely to reach people for Him. I love to teach and train and challenge those who may already believe but need to go to that next level in following Jesus. I love sharing the SOAP method of approaching The Word, equipping people to better hear God’s voice personally and regularly. Secondly, living out the Great Commission is not a cookie-cutter, one-size-fits-all, share-the-Gospel-with-a-stranger approach. It can encompass many things: a smile, an encouraging word, serving, teaching, inviting someone to church. Just authentically trying to live out our faith in front of people. Lastly, as I read this passage for the hundredth time, I am reminded Jesus says He is with us always. Through His Spirit, I can be prompted what to do or say, empowered to do it, and confident He is working in the other person’s heart to receive it at the appointed time.

P~  Jesus, Thank You for a new understanding of a familiar command, one that respects my unique gifting, encompasses many approaches, and assures me You are with me in the midst of all I do.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

