May 10 2 Samuel 18; Psalms 56; Matthew 27

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Hard Lessons | Michelle Myers

S~ In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid.  What can mortal man do to me? Psalm 56:4 (NIV)

O~ My Bible notes say, “For the director of Music.  To the tune of, ‘A Dove on Distant Oaks.’   When the Philistines had seized him in Gath.”

A~ I know for me, in order to really get this whole “trusting You” thing, You had to get me to the point where I couldn’t rely on ANYONE else.  You had to give me circumstances in life, that were beyond anything that another mortal could fix.  I also had to get beyond myself, and understand that, it is beyond my control to make it go smoothly, work out, fix it, etc.

To get me to understand “What can mortal man do to me?”, three things had to happen. First, I had to experience Your PEACE and JOY, so that I knew when I lost it, what exactly I had lost.  It went way beyond the PEACE and JOY attached to the circumstances of my life and the materialistic things of this world.  Second, some of my biggest fears had to come true, and I had to see that I am still here; in spite of ALL the loss and embarrassment.  I had to see that what the world said was good, the right way, and hopeless; was not what You said; and Your way had brought me growth, peace, and joy.  The world usually just kept me barely hanging on and exhausted.  Third, I had to truly understand and see things from an eternal perspective.  This isn’t it, and what YOU have next for me, is so much better.

This has helped me understand the importance of being connected to and following You.  It has helped calm me when I worry about my children not out living me.  As much as I would grieve that loss, what YOU would have next for them, is so much more and better than anything I could give them here on earth.

P~ I have not always been thankful for the circumstances you gave me, while they were occurring. Eventually, I am able to see the purpose and spiritual growth behind them.  Without them, I wouldn’t be where I am today in regards to my relationship with You.  As much as I fear my children going through junk, please don’t spare them the hard lessons that are going to get them to really see, know, and trust You.

I Put My Trust in You | Kim Chipman

S~ When I am afraid, I put my trust in you…in God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me? Psalm 56:3, 11 (NIV)

O~ This Psalm is a prayer for help when being attacked by enemies. It is an urgent appeal to God and also a reminder of the assurance we have in God – we can trust Him.

A~ Last week an incident rattled me a bit. While scrolling through facebook I saw a very unkind post – you know the kind…a bit of a rant without specifics on who it is about. It was pretty mean and the comments that followed were mean, too. Reminded me of a bunch of middle school bullies actually. I almost commented in defense of whomever it was they were raking over the coals, but I didn’t. I generally avoid high conflict conversations on social media.

As the day progressed I found out some information that revealed to me without a doubt that those gals were talking about ME.  I was the one being raked over the coals. That stung.

When I am afraid (or hurt, or angry, or…) I put my trust in You. When my feelings are a mess. I choose You…in God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me? This is a choice, especially when my feelings run high.

Yesterday while I was vacuuming I had an overwhelming sense in my heart that You were telling me…remember who the enemy is. It isn’t these ladies. They weren’t being nice and won’t be in my circle of trust any time soon, but they are not the enemy. I started praying for them so my heart would not become bitter. They were targeting both my faith and my mothering…what better targets for the real enemy of my soul to try to get me with?

Step 1: Remember who the enemy is. Step 2: When I am afraid I put my trust in You. What can man do to me?

P~ Thank you for meeting me in my ball of hurt feelings and reminding me that I can trust You. My hope is in You all day long! I love you~

Giving up rights to defend myself | Nikki Metzger

S~ “He saved others,” they scoffed, “but He can’t save Himself!  So He is the King of Israel, is He?  Let Him come down from the cross right now, and we will believe in Him!  Matthew 27:42 (NLT)

O~ This is the leading priests talking about Jesus while He is hanging on the cross.  What these men were saying just isn’t true.  Jesus could have saved Himself, but they still wouldn’t have believed.  Jesus has enough power to do whatever He wants: strike them dead, breathe fire on His murderers, have the nails pop out of His hands and feet, but He doesn’t.  He stays on the cross.  And He stays quiet against His persecutors.  He doesn’t defend Himself at all.

A~ I think something is coming in my life where I’m going to want to stand up and defend myself, my family, or my faith.  To speak against those who speak against me.  Jesus is my example.  He didn’t defend Himself or use words to bring His murderers down.  He knew/knows the end of the story.  God wins!  Every knee will bow before the Lord!  Is knowing that enough for me?  Is knowing the Lord fights for me enough to keep my mouth silent when I want to defend myself, family, or faith?

P~ Father, I know I will want to fight and defend myself with words.  Someday, when You call me to be quiet, bring me to this place of remembrance.  When Jesus was hanging on a cross, men gambling at His feet, and lies being spoken at Him and about Him, and He didn’t engage in battle.  Please grow my trust in You that You are always fighting for me!  I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

