May 9 2 Samuel 17; Psalms 71; Matthew 26

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

All I have today | Nikki Metzger

S~ Save me and rescue me, for You do what is right.  Turn Your ear to listen to me, and set me free. Psalm 71:2 (NLT)

O/A/P~ Father, save me and rescue me, for You do what is right.  Turn Your ear to listen to me, and set me free!  I love You!

Only the Vessel | Michelle Myers

S~ From birth I have relied on you; you brought me forth from my mother’s womb.  Psalm 71:6 (NIV)

O/A~ After my daughter was dropped off at school, I noticed her lunch sitting on the counter.  She has opted to take her lunch everyday, instead of us putting money on her account and eating the schools food.  This isn’t the first time she has forgotten it.  My suggestions on how to be more organized and prepared, so she isn’t so rushed in the morning, have gone in one ear and out the other. Since we have moved, her school isn’t as close or easy for us to get to.

A few minutes after I noticed her lunch, she texted while I was doing my Bible study and here is the conversation….

“I forgot my lunch”

“I know, and I am not bringing it to you.  Love you!”

“What am I supposed to eat?”

“That isn’t my problem.  It sounds as if you need to work on being a little more organized and prepared.  Love you!”

Normally, I would have either been irritated and taken it to her or not have taken it to her, and been worried about her going hungry.  Today, I had no worries.  I just didn’t have the time or energy to deal with her lunch, and that is OK.

Then You showed me psalm 71:6.  You brought her forth.  My womb was only the vessel.  She needs to rely on You more.  I need to allow her to rely on You more.  No wonder I am tired.  I am trying to do Your job.  I texted her and said that she needs to pray to You about her lunch situation.  She told me that she did, and it had been worked out.

P~ God, thank you for being You.  Please help remind me that I can’t be You.  My children are too eager to rely on me.  I need to guide them more toward You, and encourage them to rely on You.  When I don’t, it only leaves me exhausted and frustrated!  Also, it doesn’t help them, but often enables them.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

 

Posted on May 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki: I love your short simple SOAP today! It touched me deeply. Sometimes less is more.
    Michelle: You had a “2 for 1” today! A testimony of both how we can’t/shouldn’t try to be God for others AND how God graciously answered your daughter’s prayers!
    I thank the Lord for your surrendered hearts in seeking God!

Leave a Reply

