May 8 2 Samuel 15,16; Psalms 32; Matthew 25

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Accept and Trust | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ “Then we must flee at once or it will be too late!” David urged his men.  “Hurry! If we get out of the city before he arrives, both we and the city of Jerusalem will be spared from disaster.”  2 Samuel 15:14 (NLT)

O~ David’s son Absalom conspired against him and David decides the best thing to do is leave.

Whenever I have read this verse in the past I would think, “why!?” I had a problem with David leaving because I perceived it as weakness that he didn’t stay and fight.  I realize that this sort of thinking is a hindrance in my life because I have a hard time trusting God when things aren’t going in a good direction and I want to step in and do something about it.  L God, please forgive me, and thank you for showing me this.  This is not weakness, what I see in the verse is that David isn’t giving up, but he is trusting God and gave God total control of his life as he says in chapter 16:10-12: “No!” the king said. “What am I going to do with you sons of Zeruiah!  If the Lord has told him to curse me, who am I to stop him?”  Then David said to Abishua and the other officers, “My own son is trying to kill me.  Shouldn’t this relative of Saul have even more reason to do so?  Leave him alone and let him curse, for the Lord has told him to do it.  And perhaps the Lord will see that I am being wronged and will bless me because of these curses.”

A~  I learn here that I need to trust God and ask him what I should do and if I’m in a yucky situation and He hasn’t taken it away or me out of it I need to embrace it and accept it knowing that He is doing something good with it in my life.

P~ Heavenly Father,  thank you for the tough times, thank you for the great times, thank you for being with me through it all.

Getting Over Myself | Michelle Myers

S~ You only came to me yesterday.  And today shall I make you wander about with us, when I do not know where I am going?  Go back, and take your countrymen.  May kindness and faithfulness be with you. 2 Samuel 15:20 (NIV)

O~ David and his people have had to flee.  It is not a good situations.  In future versus, it talks about his weeping and his people’s weeping as they are leaving.  In this scripture, David is talking to a foreigner, who along with 600 of his men, were exiled from their homeland.  They follow David.  David is open and honest with them about the situation.  He pretty much tells them….”I have no idea where I am going or what I am going to do.”  “I don’t have it together here.”  “If you follow me, it will be like the blind leading the blind.”

He isn’t so overcome with his own grief and junk that he isn’t able to ‘get over himself’ and be honest and compassionate toward them.  He doesn’t mislead them, with promises of how great it will be going forward, or lies of how he knows exactly what he is going to do.  No, there is a lot of humble authenticity here.

A~ I was spent when I woke up this morning.  It has been 3 days of constant go, go, and more go.  I have had appoints that I have spaced off, more scheduling hiccups than normal, and am still trying to do my regular duties. He has had important meetings, that went late or started early this week, and has also been short staffed at the bank.  That means, he has not been able to help with some things.

Meetings are over, so this morning when he came home from the gym, I said, “Do you feel like taking the girls to school?”  I normally take them.  Driving them places, whether it be school, a friend’s house, youth group, etc. really isn’t something either of us “feel” like doing.  So my husband’s response of, “Not really”, didn’t surprise me.

He did take them, but we then had to have a conversation about our conversations.  I got an honest answer from him.  He didn’t “feel” like taking them.  I also changed it up on him, because I said that I would take them both after we moved.  I wasn’t being humble or authentic here.  I needed him to take them, because I was beyond tired.  I needed my time in the word, without feeling rushed or pressured.  Once I explained this to him, he understood.  Once he explained how he needed to know why I am changing it at the last minute, when he was expecting it to go one way, I understood.

So, then I questioned why I have such a hard time saying,….. “I don’t have this all together.”….”I can’t do it all.”……”I need help!”  I tell my family these things once in awhile, and then I assume they will “get it” in the future. There are also times that I just assume they see my busyness.  My husband has no idea that it took me an hour and a half the other day to pick up 2 girls and get his medicine from the pharmacy, because one had forgotten about track pictures after school and the pharmacy didn’t have his prescription ready.  He doesn’t know that I have told my daughter 3 times to get her room picked up.  He doesn’t know that it took me most of the day to chop vegetables, wash and cut fruit, prepare a few meals to freeze, etc.  I have to “get over myself” and tell him; and let him know what exactly I need from him and why.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom and my husband.  There would have been a time when I would have been angry and frustrated at his response, because I would have expected him to know what I have dealt with in a day. There would have been a time, that I would have thought that I shouldn’t have to ask or explain.  Help me “get over myself”, so I can ask for what I need and express why I need it, without feeling like it is some weakness in me to need help or get tired.

This is complete trust | Nikki Metzger

S~ But if He is through with me, then let Him do what seems best to Him. 2 Samuel 15:26 (NLT)

O~ David’s son Absalom is starting a rebellion against David for the kingdom.  David is on the run and says this verse about God.

A~ Is David crazy or super tight with God?  God grew David’s heart up as a warrior and he is fleeing, much like when Saul was chasing him.  David could stay and fight and probably win.  But, he would be fighting his son, someone he loved very much; again, like Saul.

Maybe I’m just in awe of David’s faith.  Let God just do what’s best…..I mean, seriously?!?  I think David has released control of all things over to God.  God, You just do what’s best for me, I trust You.  Whoa….that type of faith, that type of trust.  I desire to be able to speak those words and really mean them!

P~ Father, just do what seems best to You in my life.  I pray for courage to be able to mean that when I pray it and say it.  I desire that completely surrendered trust in You.

Divine Connections | Kelley Deases

S~  “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'”  Matthew 25:40 (NIV)

O~ I was reminded recently of a short novel I read years ago, but I cannot recall the title or its author. In this book, a man was given the ability to hear people’s thoughts and know their needs. As such, he could respond and be a blessing to each one, thereby demonstrating how God saw these hurting souls in the midst of their circumstances and showed His love to them through this man. After a time, the man’s gift was gone. While he was at first devastated and depressed to realize he could no longer decipher the specific needs of those he encountered, he eventually came to discover everyone has needs, whether or not he knew the particulars, and he could still be a blessing in their lives. [Does this sound familiar to anyone who might help me figure out the name of this book?!]

This sentiment was echoed by my pastor some months ago, when he recounted the story of hearing screeching tires and crunching metal off in the distance one morning.  In response, he called 9-1-1 to report a car accident nearby. When the dispatcher asked if there were any injuries, the pastor replied, “There has to be,” based on just what he heard and imagined had transpired. In his message the following Sunday, he extrapolated that idea to encourage all of us to reach out to our neighbors and friends and offer hope and kindness. And if you wonder if they are hurting, the answer is, “They would have to be.” Just consider the fallen world we live in!

A~ I was so blessed this past week to be used by God to meet a need. He orchestrated everything so beautifully, I was just humbled to get to be a part of it. Briefly, here’s what happened: I decided to attend my first Parent-Teacher Fellowship meeting of the entire school year, the very last meeting before summer break. This, in itself, was outside the norm as I had no particular agenda nor have I felt strongly about getting involved in this previously. I’m not much of a fan of evening meetings which take me away from my family. But this time I went and sat down next to another first-timer. I recognized her from not only school but church, though she and I had never spoken personally. We continued that conversation after the meeting and I came to learn of some terrible burdens she is carrying right now. Without going into specifics of her situation, I was able to invite her to our ladies Bible study, line her up with an employer I had just met with that day who needs people with her skill set, and, after going home and speaking to my husband, we were able to bless her with a financial gift the following day when I saw her again. This was a Divine appointment; I have no doubt in my mind God wanted this young woman to know He sees her and loves her and wanted to bless her that day. So He put it on both of our hearts to go to this meeting and have that conversation.

P~ Father, Thank You of letting me assist You in helping a young mom in the midst of a hard circumstance. I pray it lifts her spirits to know she is not forsaken and abandoned, but dearly loved and cherished by You. Increase my sensitivity to be opportunistic like this more and more.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

