May 3 2 Samuel 7; 1 Chronicles 17; Psalm 2; Matthew 20

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I May Not Always Be The One | Michelle Myers

S~ This is what the LORD says: You are not the one to build me a house to dwell in. 1 Chronicles 17:4 (NIV)

O~ David was feeling as if he should build a house for the ark of the covenant of the LORD.  He had a house, but the arc was in a tent.  Nathan told him to go ahead and do it.  David’s heart was in the right place.  Later that night He appeared to Nathan, and told him to tell David that HE is not the one to build Him a house.  God’s plans were actually to have one of David’s sons build it in the future.

A~ I progressed through one busy season, only to jump right into another busy season.  David’s heart was in the right place.  He wanted to serve You.  He was concerned about putting You above himself, as he had a house and You didn’t.

My heart is often in the right place, when I am quick to jump into something.  However, You are showing me, that not all of it, have You called me to do.  It is at those times:

I feel pulled into a million different directions.

I get worn out.

Self care takes a back seat to whatever else is going on.

Focusing is hard, because there is so much on my plate, that I struggle with trying to figure out where to start.

I become paralyzed from exhaustion and frustration.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom.  I need more of it.  My husband and I are getting ready to sit down and discuss our scheduling, home schooling, etc.  Please guide us in how to divide up the responsibilities.  Help us see what is best for all of us, so that no one person feels overwhelmed and struggling with self care.  And, like with David, show us what plans You have for how our girls can serve You by helping at home and in church.  Please guide us in everyone carrying their own load.  And help me stop, unwittingly, picking up other people’s loads.  It really has become a habit, and I don’t even recognize it until it is done and over.  I need to slow down, so I can really be connected to You in this area of scheduling, time, self care, and loads.

Parable of  the Work Day | Joni Tyner

S~ He answered one of them, “friend, I haven’t been unfair! Didn’t you agree to work all day for the usual wage?  14. Take your money and go. I wanted to pay this last worker the same as you. 15. Is it against the law for me to do what I want with my money?  Should you be jealous because I am kind to others?  Matthew 20:13-15 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking in chapter 20 about comparing the Kingdom of Heaven to that of a landowner.  He gives the example of several workers who are eager to work and accept the agreed upon wage for an entire day of work.  Then at 9am more people took the job for the same wage.  At noon and 3pm he did the same thing.  Everyone agreed to work for the same wage.  At 5 o’clock he went into town and found more people not working and told them to go to the vineyards.  Shortly afterwards he began paying everyone—everyone got the same pay. The workers who were at the job site bright and early didn’t get any bonuses, they received the same pay as the last minute workers.  Guess what? They WEREN’T happy and complained about their “unfair” pay, even though earlier in the day they were eager for the offer of work and very happy about their pay.

A~ This parable refers to a believer’s entrance into Heaven.   Jesus uses the landowner to represent  God  and believers are the workers.

Jesus is telling us we get into Heaven because of Him—His grace, not by working hard and doing more.  It’s all because of His grace.  ( Grace means we don’t deserve it.  It’s a gift)

Jesus is telling  me not to be jealous about those who come to Him in the last minute. On the contrary,  I should be helping Him find more  “workers”, people to get in on the blessings of the Lord’s grace.  Because I am a follower of Jesus, one of my job descriptions is to tell others about this amazing opportunity.

P~ Sweet Jesus, I see how you very clearly show no favoritism. Please help me to be as excited to share Your message of salvation to others—they are getting the ultimate paycheck.   I pray that if any of our readers are trying to earn their way to Heaven, they will see it is all about You!!!  They don’t need to be slaving over rules and religion, they just need to embrace You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

