April 26 2 Samuel 1; Psalm 140; Matthew 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not Quite Understanding | Michelle Myers

S~ Saul and Johnathan–in life they were loved and gracious, and in death they were not parted. 2 Samuel 1:23 (NIV)

O/A~ There is a lot in this passage that I don’t understand, until I look at my own relationships, relationships that I watch other people struggle in, and remember the brokenness of the world.

I am not surprised by David’s grief at the death of Saul and Jonathan.  Johnathan was a good and loyal friend. At one time, Saul and David had a good relationship, so I can even understand the sadness of his passing.

I don’t understand when David has the Amalekite killed.  I am not sure if there is something I am missing about the situation, but Saul did request it, as he was lingering near death anyway.  Then the Amalekite not only tells David about their deaths, but brings him the crown on Saul’s head, the band around his arm, and worships David.  As I try to reconcile it in my mind, the only things that I can come up with are:

–We live in a broken world.

–Grief can be a powerful and destructive force, if not dealt with properly.

–2 wrongs don’t make a right.

But,then I am even more surprised and bewildered by David’s description of Saul in his lament.  He described him as “loved and gracious”.  REALLY???  David had just spent a good amount of time and energy trying to avoid Saul, because Saul was trying to kill him.  WHY??? Because he was jealous of David.  I don’t think that gracious, is the word I would use to describe someone who is trying to kill me for no good reason.  In the on-line dictionary, gracious is defined as courteous, kind, and pleasant.

“He has tried to kill me…..repeatedly…..for no good reason….but he is courteous, kind, and pleasant.”  My brain doesn’t make sense of that.  Then You reminded me of a quote in a show that I had just watched, where the families young son was a dangerous sociopath.  Despite multiple injuries to family members and a recommendation by the state to remove the child from the home, get him help, etc.; they refused.  The mother on the show, minimized her sons behavior by saying that it is only a “phase”.

The psychiatrist on the show said, “The heart cannot accept what the eye can see.”  He then went on to call it, “willful blindness”.  It isn’t a healthy or safe way to live.  It is not a wise way to live.  It is not how YOU want us to live.

P~ Thank you God for Your help, in helping me, recognize how these patterns of unhealthy anger, vengeance, and willful blindness just perpetuate a cycle of dysfunction generation after generation.  Please just continue to help me be aware of it and guide me in changing it.

The Pesky Weeds | Joni Tyner

S~ Other seeds fell among thorns that grew up and choked out the tender plants. Matthew 13:7 (NLT)

The seed that fell among the thorns represents those who hear God’s word, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the worries of this life and the lure of wealth, so no fruit is produced. Matthew 13:22 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is tell a parable ( a made up story) about 4 kinds of soil that seeds can be sown in.

  1. Seeds that fall on a footpath and get ate up by the birds.
  2. Seeds  that fall  on shallow soil with underlying rock. These plants lack deep roots and will eventually die.
  3. Seeds that fall around the weeds.  They get choked out.
  4. Seeds that fall on fertile ground.

A~ I chose this soil today because I know it is so easy to get distracted by worry and everyday life.  I want to be in the last category, but I have to be intentional about seeking out God to make this happen.  I think to  have fertile ground for my faith to grow, I  need to be committed to fertilizing it—reading my Bible,  journaling, praying, seeking His way instead of my own.

P~ Dear Lord, please keep my eyes on You.  I don’t want to be distracted by life’s worries.    I desire to have deep roots that give me strength and stability in the storms of life.  Thank you for Your continued faithfulness to me.  I love You.

Lack of Faith | Kim Chipman

S~ And he did not do many miracles there because of their lack of faith. Matthew 13:58 (NIV)

O~ Jesus returned to His hometown and while people were amazed with His teaching they “took offense at Him”. They knew Him and knew His family. They did not have faith – they did not believe He was the Messiah. Because of this He did not do many miracles there.

A~ I wonder how often I miss miracles because of MY lack of faith?

P~ Help me to see things with fresh eyes today, Lord. Help me to live and walk and think from a place of trust. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

